We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay, Lolaire”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hebridean Luxury Holidays
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Short Stay, Lolaire”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Extremely clean with all the amenities you could ever need for a short or long stay (sauna, power shower, Jacuzzi, dishwasher, full sky package, broadband). Would definitely recommend and look forward to returning early next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
51
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rosemarkie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in Iolaire Lodge and absolutely loved this house, which was wonderfully spacious but also welcoming, comfortable and inviting. There are lovely extra touches such as pink ceiling star lights in the bathroom and huge comfy sofas. It was a joy to return to after a day out and so warm even when using only one small heater!

We enjoyed going over to the other side of Lewis where the scenery becomes more rugged and dramatic with stunning beaches and there is a real sense of history all over the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Absolutely perfect. Exactly as the photos on the website showed and it was really nice and quiet as it was tucked round the back of the B&B on Kenneth Street. Really comfortable double bed, warm and with good shutters for a perfect nights sleep. Really central for walking everywhere in Stornoway. Good shower. Wifi. All kitchen things. Good communication about arrival and departure etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

stayed for a week end of May-beginning of June.Excellent accomodation with everything you need.Graham was very attentive and helpful.Just brilliant. He even allowed us to stay behind
in the house until time for afternoon ferry to Ullapool.We were even asked ,before arrival,if there was any groceries we required.Very highly recommended.Thanks Graham

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.Bathroom downstairs is suitable for disabled persons with walk-in shower.All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normanmurray30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallett Cove, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family and I have stayed in several of Graham's properties over the years and they're all highly recommended. On this occasion we booked Am Bothan but were upgraded to Iolaire Lodge at no extra charge. Both properties are just off Sand Street in Stornoway and near to Craigroyston Lodge which we had also stayed in previously (and also highly recommended). I have to say we were extremely impressed once again with Iolaire. Spotlessly clean, lovely open plan design and every amenity you could wish for including even a spa bath, sauna and outside hot tub. Free Wi-Fi and a selection of DVDs available. The lodge was lovely and warm with it's own gas fire along with storage heaters. The kitchen is well equipped and it was nice to see a welcoming pint of milk in the fridge. There's a washing machine and tumble dryer and dishwasher for use along with a microwave as you'd expect. The Lodge offers parking with direct access to the accommodation and its well located within Stornoway. We didn't have our dogs with us on this occasion but we had them at Craigroyston and there's a good walk for them if you turn left onto Sand Street and walk down to the end of the road.

All in all an excellent stay and extremely competitive price wise when you compare it to a family room at the Caberfeidh Hotel for example. We will certainly be back to stay at another of Graham's properties in the near future and highly recommend any of his properties as the perfect place to stay in Stornoway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed at several of the self catering properties run by Graham of Hebridean Luxury Holidays Ltd and have been more than impressed with the 'nothing is too much trouble' nature and overall quality.
Metagama is set in a quiet location overlooking fields running down to Broad Bay. It is however close to the CoOp and you can take a quick back road to the Ferry terminal and Tesco avoiding the Town Centre.
The Lodge is light and airy with all the requirements for a luxury self catering stay - well equiped kitchen, large lounging sofas, Sky TV and large flat screen, good selection of books and DVD's (bring your own CD's) and a bathroom with Sauna and Jacuzzi bath.
Graham and Rachel do all they can to make you feel welcome and provide contact numbers in the unlikely event you need them! The lodge also has a good selection of updated guides and things to do. I really can't understand why more people don't stay in self catering as the space and freedom is such a bonus and if you can't be bothered to cook then eat out. You only have to read through Metagama's Visitors book to see that every guest feels the same and you can't get a better reference than that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned after a weekend in the above with my girlfriend and 2 friends what a lovely cottage everything was what it said on the website great accomodation all round and the staff very helpful and accomodating in all aspects will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaldM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
106 reviews
14.8 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebridean Luxury Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebridean Luxury Holidays

Property: Hebridean Luxury Holidays
Address: 29 Kenneth Street, Stornoway HS1 2DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Visit Scotland 5 star graded lodges, two with outside hot tubs. Jacuzzi baths and IR Saunas are found in both "Iolaire" and "Metagama". Dogs are welcome. These timber clad lodges boast cathedral ceilings and timber flooring and are ideal for both family holidays and romantic getaway breaks. We have many honeymoon couples visit each year. Also several budget properties rated 3 to 5 star which are ideal for both holiday visitors and corporate guests staying longer term. All properties have wi fi internet access and most have Sky TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hebrides Self Catering Hotel Stornoway
Hebridean Luxury Holidays Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing