We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hebridean Luxury Holidays
Hallett Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
436 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family and I have stayed in several of Graham's properties over the years and they're all highly recommended. On this occasion we booked Am Bothan but were upgraded to Iolaire Lodge at no extra charge. Both properties are just off Sand Street in Stornoway and near to Craigroyston Lodge which we had also stayed in previously (and also highly recommended). I have to say we were extremely impressed once again with Iolaire. Spotlessly clean, lovely open plan design and every amenity you could wish for including even a spa bath, sauna and outside hot tub. Free Wi-Fi and a selection of DVDs available. The lodge was lovely and warm with it's own gas fire along with storage heaters. The kitchen is well equipped and it was nice to see a welcoming pint of milk in the fridge. There's a washing machine and tumble dryer and dishwasher for use along with a microwave as you'd expect. The Lodge offers parking with direct access to the accommodation and its well located within Stornoway. We didn't have our dogs with us on this occasion but we had them at Craigroyston and there's a good walk for them if you turn left onto Sand Street and walk down to the end of the road.

All in all an excellent stay and extremely competitive price wise when you compare it to a family room at the Caberfeidh Hotel for example. We will certainly be back to stay at another of Graham's properties in the near future and highly recommend any of his properties as the perfect place to stay in Stornoway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
51
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed at several of the self catering properties run by Graham of Hebridean Luxury Holidays Ltd and have been more than impressed with the 'nothing is too much trouble' nature and overall quality.
Metagama is set in a quiet location overlooking fields running down to Broad Bay. It is however close to the CoOp and you can take a quick back road to the Ferry terminal and Tesco avoiding the Town Centre.
The Lodge is light and airy with all the requirements for a luxury self catering stay - well equiped kitchen, large lounging sofas, Sky TV and large flat screen, good selection of books and DVD's (bring your own CD's) and a bathroom with Sauna and Jacuzzi bath.
Graham and Rachel do all they can to make you feel welcome and provide contact numbers in the unlikely event you need them! The lodge also has a good selection of updated guides and things to do. I really can't understand why more people don't stay in self catering as the space and freedom is such a bonus and if you can't be bothered to cook then eat out. You only have to read through Metagama's Visitors book to see that every guest feels the same and you can't get a better reference than that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned after a weekend in the above with my girlfriend and 2 friends what a lovely cottage everything was what it said on the website great accomodation all round and the staff very helpful and accomodating in all aspects will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaldM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed staying in the Metagana Lodge. It was very spacious and clean. The gas fire in the living room area heated the area very quickly. We were impressed with the rural views out of the kitchen window. The hot tub outside is a good idea. Excellent having a washing machine and dryer. Sky t.v. and variety of books to read including childrens books. We cooked dinner for our friends. no complaints about the cooking facilities. the kitchen has all the equipment. Plenty fresh towels, comfortable beds. our 3 year old and 18month old slept no bother in their room. 3 year old loved the reclining leather chair to watch cbbs on. 18month old just loved walking around the open plan area. Great accommodation. definately recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the Metagana you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Seacote is a recently extended house with a high spec kitchen and lounge - wifi and Sky Sports TV included. There are four bedrooms - two upstairs are en-suite, and the two downstairs share a bathroom. The fourth bedroom has two bunk beds, rather than a double bed.
The house was very clean and there were starter packs of dishwasher tablets etc. The BBQ was used four times during our week.
Graham was very attentive to any needs during the stay.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGBLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was very fortunate to stay at four of the properties over a six month period whilst working in Stornoway - The Stables, Iolaire Lodge, Airigh Mhealbost and Metagama Lodge. All are of a consistently high standard of decor and facilities and are located either in or within easy reach of the town. The ferry terminal and airport are just a short drive away.

The properties have the advantage of being close to great beaches or in the case of the Stables a five minute walk away from the stunning Lews Castle grounds giving breathtaking views over the harbour and suitable for all walking/cycling abilities, the paths are mainly sheltered for those not so perfect days and a haven for the dog in your life too.

The lodges really do have the 'wow' factor with high vaulted ceilings, spacious and airy living areas with well stocked kitchens and lovely relaxing jacuzzi baths and saunas. Loved the huge mounted tvs with home cinema and cosy stoves great for cooler evenings.

I cannot recommend the experience highly enough and would choose the self catering option above a hotel every time. Graham was a thoughtful and kind host, nothing was too much trouble. We wish him every success with these great properties.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Craigroyston with our nearly-two-year old and a friend while we visited some friends who live in Stornoway. It took a little bit of research online to discover that the owner has several properties in the area but these are dotted around several different websites under different names. We ultimately decided to go for Craigroyston lodge and the booking went through smoothly, although it was a little disappointing to be charged extra for using a credit card.

The owner sent through lots of useful information on travel arrangements, the location of the house and the surrounding area e.g shops and places to eat. He welcomed us on arrival at Craigroyston, showed us around and made sure that we were settled in.

The house is very nice, light and airy with plenty of comfortable furniture and, critcally, comfortable mattresses on the beds. The only slight let down in this respect is the rather comical bath/shower/mini-sauna in the main bathroom which was nigh-on impossible to figure out how to operate. It would have been much nicer to have a bath and a good conventional shower cubicle the same as the one downstairs. The kitchen is well equipped and there were fresh flowers which was a very nice touch.

The steps in the main living area did mean that we had to keep an eye on our toddler but he soon got the hang of them and the owner provided a stair-gate for the main staircase. Our little boy loved charging about in the garden and watching the sheep and chickens in the fields around the house.

Overall highly recommended and we look forward to staying here again on a future visit to the island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Satsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#4 of 24 in Stornoway
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebridean Luxury Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebridean Luxury Holidays

Property: Hebridean Luxury Holidays
Address: 29 Kenneth Street, Stornoway HS1 2DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Visit Scotland 5 star graded lodges, two with outside hot tubs. Jacuzzi baths and IR Saunas are found in both "Iolaire" and "Metagama". Dogs are welcome. These timber clad lodges boast cathedral ceilings and timber flooring and are ideal for both family holidays and romantic getaway breaks. We have many honeymoon couples visit each year. Also several budget properties rated 3 to 5 star which are ideal for both holiday visitors and corporate guests staying longer term. All properties have wi fi internet access and most have Sky TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hebrides Self Catering Hotel Stornoway
Hebridean Luxury Holidays Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing