We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accomodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sundown Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
pipssmith
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodation”
Reviewed June 14, 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Stayed at this cottage at the beginning of June with my husband, four friends and our little dog Martha.. We coud not believe the facilities and the groceries left in the kitchen. Having stayed at many other cottages we went supplied with the basics but the cupboard was already stocked. Very comfortably furnished and great each bedroom having its own en suite. The weather wasn't perfect but the scenery was amazing in all weathers. Unfortunately while we were there we had need for the vets, doctor & dentist and have to say that the service in all three was exceptional. Christine was very welcoming and left us to enjoy the holiday.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLB6584
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place with great views”
Reviewed May 18, 2019 for a stay in May 2019

Our friends actually booked this cottage for our stopover on Lewis and Harris. It was a very nice place near the main city of Stornoway. The owner met us there and showed us around, gave us some nice food recommendations. There was a nice welcome basket provided- great touch. Each room has it's own bathroom, very convenient. It had everything we needed plus it was near to many of the cultural attractions we wanted to visit .

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMich...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in a beautiful place”
Reviewed April 29, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

Sundown Cottage is a wooden lodge house 15 minutes from Stornoway. It's been beautifully furnished - everything new from the photos here and is full of character. You couldn't be better placed on the island - quick to town for food, 10 minutes from the remarkable Callanish stones and easy for the whole wild and wonderful place. We loved it, and got hugely lucky with a week of almost uninterrupted sun.

Date of stay: April 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmhMidlan...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed February 11, 2019 for a stay in February 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week in this lovely cottage. So we'll equipped with a fantastic welcome basket including wine and local food products. Beautiful decor. Very well equipped kitchen. The location was great near enough to stornaway but peaceful and easy to explore Lewis and Harris. The scenery is so beautiful and the beaches are out of this world. Can't recommend enough. Lovely helpful owners too

Date of stay: February 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Date of stay: September 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hsamuel20...
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Sundown cottage is a lovely, clean, homely cottage in a really good location; the views from the living window are out of this world. The cottage is only about 10 minutes from Stornoway where there are a couple of supermarkets, and centrally located for travelling around the whole island. We received a warm welcome from Callum, and the cottage was very clean upon arrival. The wee box of food was a lovely thought too. Comfy beds in the three bedrooms and all rooms have bathrooms. We consider ourselves very lucky to have come across this cottage when searching for accommodation on Lewis, this will be our first port of call when booking accommodation when we return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing