We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury, warm and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holm View Guest House
Ranked #9 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Luxury, warm and cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Recently, the very friendly owner has updated the cottage so we could stay with our two sons in a luxury, warm and cosy 3-chamber-house with 2 bathrooms and a little kitchenette. A perfect place to stay, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is served in the house, not in the cottage. Compared with all our other accommodations in Scotland... overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobR-010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 6 nights for the festival in the bungalow which is split into two . We stayed in the large part which includes bedroom, bathroom sitting room , kitchenette area and the wonderful conservatory. The accommodation was immaculate and comfortable. We had great weather and our stay at Holm View gave us two of our holiday highlights - the wonderful views from the conservatory ( see photos) where we spent a lot of time just watching the sea, the passing ferries and the full moon on the water with the odd glass of wine ! and secondly our morning breakfast chats with Donald our lovely host for the week. Donald was welcoming helpful and informative and kept us well set up for the day with lovely fresh coffee, bacon and cheese croissants , cereal and fruit all set off with lovely sea views.
There are some lovely beach walks from the guest house , worth visiting the Columba church and beach at the end of the causeway. In all a great place to stay Thanks Donald

Room Tip: The bungalow with conservatory is a great choice if you want a bit more space and the microwave/sink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fridgetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

A very comfortable B&B near Stornoway. As others have said (and as the website makes clear) it's not in the town, so you'll be driving (or getting taxis if you want a drink). None-the-less, it's clean, comfortable and very welcoming. The views out over the sea are lovely, and there's a wealth of local information on offer. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonySG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

the B&B is very nicely situated on the water with a great view. the main house is very nice, with big and comfortable rooms. the hosts are very friendly and helpful. the rooms in the bungalow dont have a view so make sure to ask for room in the main house if you want to see the sea

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Annina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

While a short drive from the centre of Stornaway , the B&B was in an excellent position overlooking the seaside. The room was large and well appointed with a view to the sea. Being on the first floor, heavy suitcases could be a challenge for older travellers. Breakfast continental, with a wide choice of fruit and cereals and toast. I left my charger behind and the host, Donald, very kindly took the trouble to send it onto me.

Room Tip: If needing an evening meal, prepare for a short drive to the centre or bring your own provisions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBJ453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Big comfortable room complete with sofa, sea view. Spotless and welcoming. Donald was not there on our visit, but were very well looked after by his lovely daughter and son who were both very helpful.
Would definately use here again if ever find myself in Stornoway

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlasgowA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at Holm House during a business trip to the Highlands and Islands. Holm House is located between Stornoway Airport and Stornoway town centre and has a lovely view out to sea to the front of the house. No amenities are particularly close by. I was aware of this when I booked and the location suited me as my business the following morning was at the airport.

On arrival at Holm House I was met by the owner who showed me to my room. He also offered to run me into Stornoway Town centre if I wished to get something to eat, which I thought was very thoughtful.

I was offered a full cooked breakfast in the morning as an alternative to the continental breakfast which is normally provided. The breakfast was lovely.

To top off the stay, the owner gave me a lift to my destination the following.

All in all a lovely clean B&B with lovely views and an owner who can't do enough to help.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
3.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solas Guest House
Solas Guest House
#4 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holm View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holm View Guest House

Property: Holm View Guest House
Address: 18, Rathad a Bhraighe | Rathad Am Braighe, Stornoway HS2 0BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holm View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished house with uninterrupted views, close to centre of town, near airport and ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holm View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holm View Guest House Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing