We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holm View Guest House
Ranked #11 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and host”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This guest house is in ideal location for travelling around the island and for the ferry. We had a front bedroom with lovely views over the bay. Our host, Donald, was very helpful, providing us with a map and information of places to visit during our two nights stay. The bedroom was lovely with en suite facilities, of a good size and pleasant decor. It was certainly the best place we stayed in during our 10 day trip to Scotland and we would certainly recommend it to our friends and stay there if we returned to the island

Room Tip: We had a front bedroom overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My parents and I stayed at the Holm View Guest House for three nights in September 2011, and I can honestly say that out of the dozens of other B&Bs we stayed at during our 3week trip around the UK, this was by far the best.

It's only a stone's throw from the airport, and maybe a 5min drive from Stornoway itself.

The rooms were spotless and quite modern, not to mention big enough to play a football match in! The breakfast provided, while continental, was always lovely and fresh and more than enough.

This place also has the most spectacular views of the sea, but it's best asset is the owner - and I feel really terrible that I've forgotten his name! He was fantastically accomodating, and I know that my parents got to know him really well and consider him a great friend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eM_2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This B&B is located about a mile from Stornoway on the far side of the airport. Compared to many places locally it is reasonably priced and the double rooms are of a good size with TV and large bed. We also had a large settee. Don't worry about the proximity of the airport as it isn't very busy and one hardly notices the noise of the propeller only aircraft above the existing wind noise!

Breakfast is a light affair with only cereal and toast available.

The room and bathroom were clean and tidy but get up early if you want a hot shower as there seems not to be that much hot water. That said I'd recommend this B&B as a good spot to base yourself when on the island. It loses one star only for the restricted hot water.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiskyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Wales
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The proprietor was very welcoming and helpful. We took a single and twin room, both were spotlessly clean, modern with lovely comfortable beds. Very pleased to find a corner bath in the twin en-suite rather that shower cubicle. We were offered continental breakfast at the guest house, or a cooked breakfast at a cafe which the proprietor owns a little further up the road. We went for the cooked breakfast, which was excellent. Would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Twin room at the front has a stunning view, and a bath in the en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Very pleasant stay at the Holm View Guest House. Really nice rooms, excellent power shower. Breakfast - option of continental in the guest house or go along to their tea room and have full english. Excellent! They could not do enough for you. There was 4 of us and they checked out the entertainment for night then ran us along and dropped us off. We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

When looking for suitable accomodations I was intrigued to see that I could stay in the bungalow for just £5 more than a double room.

Staying in the bungalow means that as well as a comfortable double room with ensuite bathroom, you also get a combined kitchen/living room area, a conservatory with a sofa and dining table and an additional shower room and a single room off the double room.

I landed in strong winds which was a bit bumpy but still decided to walk to Holm View from the airport, it was only a mile but the wind and rain made it quite difficult, so if the weather is bad or it's dark i'd recommend getting in a taxi.

The noise from the airport is minimal as only propellered aircraft take off from there. The wind noise on my first night was very bad however as there were gusts of around 50mph, so it kept waking me up!

On the second night it was almost still so was lovelly and peaceful apart from the noise from the road, there's quite a few cars going up and down considering the population on the outcrop that the road leads too.

The owner was very friendly and had the place lovelly and warm for my arrival. The bungalow has a widescreen TV and Sky (just the free to view channels) but that's a good enough selection.

The kitchen is well equipped enough and the continental breakfast selection was more than adequate, there is only a microwave and fridge though so doesn't offer full self catering facilities.

The only downside was the lack of wireless broadband which was a real issue as there is no Vodafone mobile signal anywhere indoors apart from the conservatory or by holding your phone right against the window, this was due to the BT line being down though so not the owners fault.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

fantastic location and stunning views.
myself and my huband stayed here for 3 nights and wow what a wonderfull room!we had a huge en suite double bedroom,beautifully furnished rooms!the owner has really thought about his guests when choosing the layouts of the rooms!large wooden bed,huge sofa and flat screen tv.
there is a lovely beach to the back of the house for walking on too!breakfast was of a good standard and the host is really great!this place has as we found out the most fantastic cottage to stay in at the back of the property which has 3 bedrooms and a conservotory with tables and chairs outside with sea views so we would def come back here with friends to stay!a
also we would recomend a drive to harris on your stay and go to luskyntyre beach we have been to exotic beaches in oz and had never seen anything like this!
have a look at our pics and think about staying at holm view!
fantastic stay !!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank susankennedybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
3.0 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
322 reviews
2.8 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
108 reviews
2.7 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
283 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Twenty Seven
Twenty Seven
#3 of 24 in Stornoway
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holm View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holm View Guest House

Property: Holm View Guest House
Address: 18, Rathad a Bhraighe | Rathad Am Braighe, Stornoway HS2 0BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holm View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished house with uninterrupted views, close to centre of town, near airport and ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holm View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holm View Guest House Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing