We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stornowaystay”

Park Guest House and Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Guest House and Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stornowaystay”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Owner very helpful and staff friendly . Room was good and well appointed .
We had a problem with the car and Roddy.dealt with the garage and arranged for the car to be collected and pay the bill through him , so easy.
Only reservation is that it would be good if dinner was served a bit later say till 7.30

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
11
17
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

After an extensive search- we settled on The Park Guest House as being centrally located, having a good price, and having attractive rooms. We called and emailed Rodney- the owner of this B&B to insure that we would have two rooms exactly like those pictured on his website. When we arrived Rodney could not be reached by phone. No one answered the door- or the phone number posted on the door, so we left and had lunch. We returned to the B&B after 3pm, which was when we had confirmed our arrival, but there was still no one available to answer the door. We were finally able to contact Rodney by phone, and arranged to come back in 30 minutes to check in. The first room he showed us was lovely- just as pictured on the internet, however, to view the second room, we were led back though the kitchen and out the back door to a rear patio. on the patio was a separate garage 'apartment'. The bedroom and bathroom were separated by a hallway, and the bedroom had pealing wallpaper. The apartment smelled stale and of wet laundry. When we investigated, we found the back kitchenette area covered with piles of laundry, and a washing machine stuffed full of linens. Rodney told us that his washing machine was broken, so he allowed the staff to use that one- but that he would have them vacate the room 'soon'. We expressed strong dissatisfaction with the arrangements, and reminded him that he promised two en-suite rooms that looked exactly like the photos on the internet. He said that he saw nothing wrong with the rooms and that they were just alike. Rodney did not provide the rooms that we were promised, and when he was asked to keep his promise- he threw us out of his lodgings and later tried to charge us for the full amount

Room Tip: go next door to Tower Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TheTruth777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stornoway hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
worcestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Room was clean and warm with a very nice modern bathroom. The owner was rude, very rude and I found his interaction wholly xenophobic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank babsgrumpton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

was ok room needed good clean, but handy for town etc bit expensive and ideas above their station, didnt appreciate being told off by the chef for eating elsewhere,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CodHead73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I booked the accommodation on the recommendation of a relative and I was very impressed with the service that I received at the Park Guest House. I do not agree with the negative reports voiced by two respondents to your website...did they have another axe to grind?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinacatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Needed somewhere to stay in Stornoway overnight to wait for a ferry - other places were either fully booked or highly overpriced.

Park Guesthouse was very comfortable - nicely decorated bedroom and bathroom. The plumbing made a bit of noise when used but it's an old, converted house and it didn't cause us problems. Our room was on the main road but the double glazing was very effective so road noise didn't bother us.

Breakfast was very nice using good local produce - the owner obviously takes pride in his cooking.

Service was a bit iffy - we had to phone the owner when we arrived despite telling him what time we'd get there. On leaving there was no one there at all - we had to assume we'd paid as we'd given our credit card details when booking.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was closed on Sunday when we were there (as well as being closed on Monday) but most restaurants in the town were also closed on Sundays so we ended up with some pub grub and an early night.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonBikerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Although Visit Scotland brochure stated clearly The Park had "Free Parking on site" symbol, there is none. We had to either park outside on the busy main road or in the car park belonging to Hotel across the road. We arrived on a Monday and on enquiring the time for evening meals told restaurant not open on Mondays!!! Would have been useful to be informed before we arrived. Instead of having to find a place to eat in a strange town, fortunately we did and also went back the second night of our stay. Be warned the Saniflo toilet in the en-suite makes a strange loud noise!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuppence45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hal O' the Wynd
Hal O' the Wynd
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Guest House and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Guest House and Restaurant

Property: Park Guest House and Restaurant
Address: 30 James Street, Stornoway HS1 2QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Guest House and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Park Guest House and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Guest House And Restaurant Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing