We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring”
Review of Caladh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caladh Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nothing wrong with this hotel, but just all "average". Friendly reception, clean and warm room, but small single bed. Tea making facilities. Probably oldest TV I can remember seeing, so old it didn't show the pictures in the right format, but there are worse things in life!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank AH444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 323 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for three nights whilst exploring Isle of Lewis and Isle of Harris.
Room very clean and tidy, very quiet, staff polite and courteous, evening meal was very good as was the breakfast. Not far from the ferry terminal which was convenient at 5am!!

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed for one night in this hotel , it's very basic but it is a 2star hotel so can't expect luxury. My room was a double and of a decent size , the heating could have been a tad warmer but it was tolerable and not cold , my room faced the front and I thought wasn't noisey even though it faced the main road. Inside the room was most things that you would need my only gripe was the folding iron press didn't work. The toilets are a bit irritating with the noise after flushing and the extractor makes a bit of noise. The resteraunt was very good , the carvery is a good idea and seems to be popular with guests. The staff are friendly enough and willing to help . Overall would I go back , no I don't think I would the hotel looks a bit dated and needs tarted up , having said that there's not too much wrong with it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McIntosh95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here a year ago while they were upgrading. It seems that the only thing upgraded were the doors to the rooms. The furniture and decor is tired and dated. There was only one available socket in the room - which stank of smoke - and the television was a 4:3 version so old that it had no remote control. It was impossible to get a signal on the free wifi. Extremely disappointed, but at least the food was good in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a room that has a view, rather than one that looks onto another wall 4 feet away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spotthescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I do not recognise the less than generous reviews after my one night stay here. It is a very very good 2 star hotel. My room was a good size twin and the bathroom was very large. The room was clean, tidy and well maintained.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend the great value evening buffet meal. So many choices, all hot and fresh and good quality. The breakfast buffet was ample, hot and tasty. The coffee was great.
There is a nice bar beside the restaurant. Guests can use the snooker room which is a lovely space to use if you are with friends even if you don't want to play.
It is not fair to expect 5 star quality when the hotel aims to satisfy at a different level. It should be judged and reviewed in comparison to other places in the same range.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanandsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you're looking for a traditional restaurant serving good local food/produce, go somewhere else. The black pudding served at breakfast is drowned in oil. It is a modern hotel and restaurant and fine if you like that sort of thing. The room I stayed in had no view other than a dark enclosed area and noise from other rooms and in the corridor seemed like it was coming from inside my room. Staff though, were really friendly and always pleased to help.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Please be aware this hotel has a 4 star rating and I can tell you it does not even get a 1 star ! Moved from room to room because of the staff making noise at midnight. I eventually was given a "refurbished"" room. I was at a loss to see what had been refurbished . There was no curtain on the bathroom window which over looked the roundabout and a main road,and the "view " out the other window was a huge skip which the staff late at night used to throw rubbish in! The furniture was stained as well as carpets. I don't mind basic hotels but as it is advertising as a 4 star I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesleyb456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. While it’s lovely to receive many good reviews such as those further down the page, critical comment is equally welcome if it helps us to improve service.

Firstly, it’s important for me to correct a factual error in your review, so that TripAdvisor members are not misled. This hotel does not have a 4 star rating and is never advertised by us as 4 star. The hotel does, in fact, hold a 2 star VisitScotland rating. We inspect and maintain our rooms to that standard, so that we continue to receive the rating from VisitScotland .

We are in the process of refurbishing bedrooms – currently 20 rooms are being modernised with new bathrooms and replacement windows as appropriate and others will follow.

I would like to make a more thorough investigation into the matters raised in your review and would appreciate an email from you with a little more detail, if you would be kind enough to write to me at Christina@calahotels.com.

Our first priority is to provide our guests with hospitality that pleases and we’re generally successful in that aim. However, on this occasion we appear to have failed and I offer you my apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
112 reviews
15 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stornoway Bed and Breakfast Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caladh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caladh Inn

Address: 11 James Street, Stornoway HS1 2QN, Scotland (Formerly Seaforth Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: $118 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caladh Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Caladh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caladh Hotel Stornoway
Caladh Inn Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing