We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Caladh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caladh Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

As a traveling business man I am looking for a quiet, comfortable sleep in a clean and cared for environment, a hot shower in the morning and a good breakfast. This hotel doesn't offer that.

If you like a hotel cardboard internal walls, creaking floors, single glazing with ill-fitting drafty windows, loads of noise from outside, beds that are way too small, mildew in the bathroom, dirty towels, flaking paint, old and tired decor, loads of interesting, but unhelpful features (like the mirror about 6 feet away from the sink), then this hotel is for you.

I gave it 3 out of 5 because there are two things that are really standing out, and that is that most of the staff is helpful and friendly and breakfast is excellent.

Although the hotel is located close to the centre of Stornoway (and thus really handy for that), its setting is rather off-putting (in the middle of an industrial yard of sorts).

Good WiFi connection in the room.

Despite that, i find it too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Get a room with number 12 or higher. These rooms are quieter and more recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boxercollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. While it’s lovely to receive many good reviews such as those further down the page, critical comment is useful if it helps us to correct shortcomings.

From your description of the bathroom, it’s possible for us to identify the group of rooms you stayed in, as the large mirrors are indeed on a wall at right angles to the basin, about four feet from it.

Because the wash-hand basin is directly below the window, it’s not possible to have a wall mirror directly above it. We are now looking for an alternative shaving mirror with a sufficiently long arm to be fixed to the wall at the side of the window – you’ll appreciate that we cannot place mirrors in bathrooms if they are not fixed, as this could present a hazard.

As part of our current refurbishment programme all rooms now have bath and shower, apart from one, which has shower only. We have just completed the replacement of a good number of windows (including the section of the hotel in which you stayed, where the ensuite bedrooms already provided showers).

Currently, 20 rooms are being freshly decorated and modernised with new bathrooms, while others will follow soon.

I was a little surprised to read that you felt your bed was small, as all of our beds are at least standard double or single size and it appears you had single occupancy in your double room. If we are advised on booking enquiry that a guest is especially tall, we would normally suggest that he or she stay at our sister hotel in Stornoway, the Cabarfeidh, where super king and ziplink doubles are available.

The hotel is situated on a mainly residential section of a street comprising Victorian villas, not far from the town centre and around 100 metres from the Council Offices and the Nicolson Institute secondary school. After about 11pm, nearby roads are generally quiet, so disturbance by passing traffic is unusual. Stornoway’s main trading area is directly to the rear of the hotel – which is in easy walking distance if you have business there and don’t choose to bring your car on the ferry.

Having the convenient proximity of the trading area does mean that rear facing rooms overlook it, so if the view from a bedroom window is important, we suggest that guests ask for an appropriate room when booking.

According to Booking.com the Caladh Inn is the least expensive hotel in Stornoway (double room, 27th January 2014) – also, when you deduct VAT, which is not chargeable by many B&Bs, it’s much the same price as a B&B. Prices here may be a little more expensive here than on the mainland. It costs substantially more to run an accommodation business on an island, with relatively low winter occupancy levels, higher transport costs and high maintenance requirements following harsh winter conditions.

Our first priority is to provide our guests with hospitality that pleases and we’re generally successful in that aim. Although, on this occasion we appear to have failed to please with your room, I’m happy to see that our staff have been helpful to you and that you’ve enjoyed the ‘no limits’ breakfast buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    94
    67
    26
    17
See reviews for
26
65
18
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Caladh in Stornoway. A nice quiet room was warm and comfortable. The crowning memory will be the food, which is absolutely excellent. This, combined with friendly and helpful staff, puts it top of the list if I ever have to return to Stornoway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunroBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. It’s lovely to read that the efforts we put in to pleasing our guests are appreciated.

Glad that you enjoyed the food – we use as much fresh local produce as we can and our Eleven restaurant is also very popular with people who live here – you know what they say, “Eat where the locals eat!”

I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you here again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

World class breakfast. great staff, Good Stornoway welcome. Great location short walk into the town centre. Big carpark next door. No noise in the room so a good nights sleep, looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. It’s great to be appreciated.

Our first priority is to provide our guests with hospitality that pleases and we’re generally successful in that aim.

Glad that you enjoyed the ‘no limits’ breakfast buffet - I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you here again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Made very welcome by the staff, food choices even over 6 nights very good, rooms are clean and warm. In short nothing to moan about. Car park large enough for all types of vehicles with good access, easy walking distance from ferry and town centre.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Garryxlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. It’s great to be appreciated and it looks as if we’ve been successful in our aim to provide our guests with hospitality that pleases.

Glad that you enjoyed the food choices – we cook from fresh using as much local produce as we can- I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you here again before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

An excellent hotel in the heart of Stornoway. Very good and helpful staff, good clean rooms. Buffet meals were disappointing as I don't like DIY. but otherwise I would certainly stay here again. We had the services of a local guide to take us around the island, he was very knowledgeable and made our stay even better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. It’s great to be appreciated.

The carvery and buffet restaurant concept has proved very popular in Stornoway with guests and local residents alike – two changes of menu each day and we use as much fresh local produce as possible. So there’s always something different.

Sorry that you didn’t prefer the buffet - we appreciate that some prefer not to choose their meals this way, so we offer (at extra cost) an a la carte menu option, too, with everything cooked fresh to order.

Glad that your guide was interesting – The Isle of Lewis has lots of history, scenery and wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
725 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very inexpensive for a one-night stay. Especially considering inclusion of an all you can eat cooked breakfast in the price. Reception very helpful and friendly. Room good size and excellent/powerful shower. Good wifi throughout hotel. Room badly in need of facelift, however. Furniture/bed/fittings all very tired. Would stay here again but only on a one-nighter!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed our hospitality.

We can’t tell from your comment which room you stayed in, but it was probably one of the rooms that are currently receiving a major facelift with new bathrooms and décor.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Caladh Inn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed recently on an escorted trip and was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable everything was. Food was good and plentiful and breakfast superb Room was clean and beds very comfortable.
Do not criticise until you have stayed in some of the other Hotels on Islands!!!!!!
Manager seemed permanently on duty and so nice. Someone give him a bed!!!!!

Room Tip: Only 2 floors but lift availabe if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babaluba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us – we try hard to make it special for everyone.

Our staff are very dedicated to the job – although he'lI often work beyond his hours to go the ectra mile for our guests, I promise you that the duty manager concerned does have a bed to go home to!

We look forward to welcoming you to the Caladh Inn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
15.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caladh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caladh Inn

Property: Caladh Inn
Address: 11 James Street, Stornoway HS1 2QN, Scotland (Formerly Seaforth Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caladh Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caladh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caladh Hotel Stornoway
Caladh Inn Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing