We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and food”
Review of Caladh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caladh Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed November 13, 2013

World class breakfast. great staff, Good Stornoway welcome. Great location short walk into the town centre. Big carpark next door. No noise in the room so a good nights sleep, looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. It’s great to be appreciated.

Our first priority is to provide our guests with hospitality that pleases and we’re generally successful in that aim.

Glad that you enjoyed the ‘no limits’ breakfast buffet - I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you here again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Caladh Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 306 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Made very welcome by the staff, food choices even over 6 nights very good, rooms are clean and warm. In short nothing to moan about. Car park large enough for all types of vehicles with good access, easy walking distance from ferry and town centre.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Garryxlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. It’s great to be appreciated and it looks as if we’ve been successful in our aim to provide our guests with hospitality that pleases.

Glad that you enjoyed the food choices – we cook from fresh using as much local produce as we can- I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you here again before too long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

An excellent hotel in the heart of Stornoway. Very good and helpful staff, good clean rooms. Buffet meals were disappointing as I don't like DIY. but otherwise I would certainly stay here again. We had the services of a local guide to take us around the island, he was very knowledgeable and made our stay even better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. It’s great to be appreciated.

The carvery and buffet restaurant concept has proved very popular in Stornoway with guests and local residents alike – two changes of menu each day and we use as much fresh local produce as possible. So there’s always something different.

Sorry that you didn’t prefer the buffet - we appreciate that some prefer not to choose their meals this way, so we offer (at extra cost) an a la carte menu option, too, with everything cooked fresh to order.

Glad that your guide was interesting – The Isle of Lewis has lots of history, scenery and wildlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very inexpensive for a one-night stay. Especially considering inclusion of an all you can eat cooked breakfast in the price. Reception very helpful and friendly. Room good size and excellent/powerful shower. Good wifi throughout hotel. Room badly in need of facelift, however. Furniture/bed/fittings all very tired. Would stay here again but only on a one-nighter!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed our hospitality.

We can’t tell from your comment which room you stayed in, but it was probably one of the rooms that are currently receiving a major facelift with new bathrooms and décor.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Caladh Inn again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed recently on an escorted trip and was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable everything was. Food was good and plentiful and breakfast superb Room was clean and beds very comfortable.
Do not criticise until you have stayed in some of the other Hotels on Islands!!!!!!
Manager seemed permanently on duty and so nice. Someone give him a bed!!!!!

Room Tip: Only 2 floors but lift availabe if necessary.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babaluba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us – we try hard to make it special for everyone.

Our staff are very dedicated to the job – although he'lI often work beyond his hours to go the ectra mile for our guests, I promise you that the duty manager concerned does have a bed to go home to!

We look forward to welcoming you to the Caladh Inn again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here in August, rooms and decor in serious need of upgrading. 2star hotel and it's very obvious why. However rooms were clean and I did get a reasonably good nights sleep. Looking at the positives, it's in central location, the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you and their restaurant called Eleven was excellent, (very busy and well worth a visit) as the food was great and value for money. If the owners spent as much time, money and effort on the rest of the hotel as they obviously have in the restaurant they would have a great wee hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMacG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOHManager, General Manager at Caladh Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed our hospitality.

We can’t tell from your comment which room you stayed in, but it was probably one of the rooms that are currently receiving a major facelift with new bathrooms and décor. As part of our current refurbishment programme all rooms now have bath and shower, apart from one, which has shower only.

Our aim is to make sure that every guest has a good stay, with clean comfortable accommodation (meeting the 2 star award) and excellent food, so and we’re glad to see we succeeded for you.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Caladh Inn again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were put in Room 3, and I don’t think we could have had better. The bed was so comfy that I had the best night’s sleep ever (and that includes at home in my own bed!) The bedroom was spacious and in addition we had an entrance hall/room that I could sit in and read for an hour or two after my husband had gone to bed and not disturb him.

Staff were friendly. The only trouble I had was when I tried to access the WiFi and couldn't connect to the Internet. The girl on reception was vague, and admitted she didn't know anything about it. The second day I went again to tell her that maybe the hub needed resetting? She offered to get someone to look into it the next day - not a lot of good, as we wouldn't be there the next day! I don't think it can have been a problem with my laptop, as I connected to the Internet just fine everywhere else we went.

Food was buffet style, and very good.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 3!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NUTMEG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
109 reviews
15.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caladh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caladh Inn

Address: 11 James Street, Stornoway HS1 2QN, Scotland (Formerly Seaforth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: $106 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caladh Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caladh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caladh Hotel Stornoway
Caladh Inn Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing