We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came to our rescue”
Review of Caladh Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caladh Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having been let down badly by an accommodation provider elsewhere in Stornoway, 21 charity cyclists and one support driver were welcomed to this hotel at no notice and treated with true Hebridean hospitality. Very reasonably priced clean rooms and a great welcome and secure accommodation for our 21 bikes, all taken in their stride by the hotel staff. An early ferry meant we could not sample the breakfast but we experienced true customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 312 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have stayed here on four occasions this year and hopefully will be back. Yes, as some would say the rooms are a bit dated but it makes up massively in other departments.
The staff are a treasure and the food is out of this world (best in Stornoway).
Will be back.

Room Tip: Book a room with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moanday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very good food, the staff and location were faultless. The manager, Christina, was exceptional. She went out of her normal line of duty to help my sister and me. The rooms needed a little updating however I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth_Dinsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A massive thank you to the Caladh Inn for coming to the rescue of our group of 22 (the Moray Wheelers)when we were let down by a Hostel in STORNOWAY.
We cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough, thanks to them coming to our aid we managed to finnish our sponsored cycle from Elgin around the Western Isles and back to Elgin a total of over 400 miles.
To date we have raised over £21000.00p.

Stayed: September 2012
4  Thank DDS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A bit dated from the outside. It looks like a 60's design, the inside area was spotless with a light and airy reception. We stayed 2 nights as part of a tour. The food was a carvery and exceptional with plenty of choice and well cooked and hot. The bedrooms were big and comfy. The staff were very friendly and I would recommend this to anyone. It is about 250 yds from the ferry terminal and close to the town centre. Free wifi is a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di_Traveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Caladh Inn have pleasent rooms, a good restaurant with excellent meals, and staff that really wants meet your expectations. If they don't have a service, they still try to deliver.
It's not among the newest hotels, but they are refurbishing and it's clean. There are free wifi in the room, but a pc in the loby would be fine. However, they offered to use their office so it's not a complaint. Location is good, but remember that most of Stornoway are closed on Sundays.
Also, if visiting Stornoway, pay a visit to the destillery on the west side of the island. The taxis give you good fares.

Room Tip: Port side of hotel has nabours (tesco) that work loud all night, every night. And there is not reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

First and last time will visit this place, they need aircon in the buffet and carvery area. It was that hot that we had to keep leaving out table to stand outside. Waitress was also deaf so most of the order was missing (ordered from menu looked safer) Not a nice experience at all would give this this place a huge miss. Value for money..none, nothing at all. Staff need more training and better listening skills. The toilets were clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
111 reviews
15.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caladh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caladh Inn

Address: 11 James Street, Stornoway HS1 2QN, Scotland (Formerly Seaforth Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range: $106 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caladh Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Caladh Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caladh Hotel Stornoway
Caladh Inn Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing