We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, Fabulous, Fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hebridean Guest House
Ranked #4 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Fabulous, Fabulous!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for just one night as my son was looking at Lewis Castle College and wish we could have stayed longer, but will definitely be back! Rooms are tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Lovely, comfortable bed and a great location just minutes from the town. Linda was very welcoming and friendly which just made our stay even better. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Hebridean Guest House to anyone thinking of visiting this beautiful island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuterHebridesLulu, Owner at Hebridean Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. Hope your son settles in well at college and that you manage to stay a bit longer on your next visit to have a good look around this lovely Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    50
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
49
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tours, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed in this wonderful guesthouse regularly since 1994. A very warm welcome awaits you, Linda and her staff do anything for you to feel at home...modern, comfortable rooms, and a bathroom where you can really relax after e.g. a long walk in the nearby castle- grounds.
The busy centre is within a short walk, the harbour where you can watch the ferry arrive and leave, go shopping, have a tea or coffee and admire local art. Thank you so much, Linda and a big hug.
Sigrid from France

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigrid187130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuterHebridesLulu, Owner at Hebridean Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and hope you have nice memories of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Claud, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of a business trip and it was more than delightful! Beautiful room, tastefully decorated, so comfortable. Breakfast also faultless! Kevin and Linda are so very welcoming and helpful. Can we move in, please?!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyrightdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuterHebridesLulu, Owner at Hebridean Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return journey. Linda and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our 5th visit to what I can only describe as 'THE best guest house in the world'. My extended family and I stayed with Linda and her team for 5 days over the festive period - our stay was just perfect, punctuated with the superb Stornoway Fireworks on Hogmanay. The hospitality was second to none - the children loved the cooked breakfasts and myself & my mother-in-law were very impressed by the cleanliness of the rooms. Linda was true to form with nothing being too much bother and very happily sharing her home with us..... Thank you - we will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuterHebridesLulu, Owner at Hebridean Guest House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a great review. We also enjoyed having such a lovely family come to stay in our Guest House. We usually go away at this time of year so it was different for us and didn't feel like work at all. We look forward to your speedy return. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I travel a lot for work, and I've stayed in the Hebridean Guesthouse several times over the past few months. It is very well run by (the very helpful) Linda and Joan: the rooms are immaculate, the showers are warm and powerful, and the WiFi is good. The breakfasts are fantastic too, and are a great way to start a day of work!

Location-wise, the guesthouse is a short walk from Stornoway's various restaurants and facilities.

All in all, this is a great place to stay, particularly if you are travelling to Na h-Eileanan Siar for business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuterHebridesLulu, Owner at Hebridean Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and we'll try our best to keep up the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvinestown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

From the minute we arrived, we were greated by Linda, she was warm , welcoming & friendly. We were shown to our room, No 2, ensuite and very spacious. Extremely clean linen and room spotless. We had a beautiful comfortable lounge with large leather sofas.....to sit in downstairs to watch the large LCD tv, Well what can I say about breakfast ~~~~~ plenty of it and perfect in every way. Linda and her staff were fabulous and we enjoyed every minute of our stay in Stornoway. We covered the whole of Lewis and Harris.... we will be back...... thanks Linda and Staff for making it a wonderful 4 days..... Anne Inglis

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuterHebridesLulu, Owner at Hebridean Guest House, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Very much appreciated. Linda, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I use this guest house twice a year when I am in Stornoway on business. The rooms are very well decorated and very clean I could not ask for better. Always a great breakfast to start the day. On the occasion when I was unable to get a room because of being fully booked I cancelled the trip rebooked trip for the following week so I could get a room in me favourite guest house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuterHebridesLulu, Owner at Hebridean Guest House, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your appreciation of our hard work. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hal O' the Wynd
Hal O' the Wynd
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebridean Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebridean Guest House

Property: Hebridean Guest House
Address: 61 Bayhead, Stornoway HS1 2DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hebridean Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very comfortable Guest House within walking distance from town centre and local restaurants. Opposite golf course and castle grounds. All rooms en-suite, flat screen t.V.And free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hebridean Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hebridean Guest House Hotel Stornoway
Hebridean Hotel Stornoway
Hebridean Guest House Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing