We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average just now, but improvements in the pipeline.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Average just now, but improvements in the pipeline.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Let me start by saying there is a major refurb going on at the moment with the rooms, which to be fair certainly need it, but there clean and are fine if your just want to put your head down for a night or 2, but for 50 pounds b and b I had no major complaints, saying that the shower struggled to provide any sort of force of water, plenty of noise not a lot of action!

The whole downstairs has been completely refurbished, with a lovely cafe/bar which serves main meals ect and they were lovely, they have a seperate Indian menu, plus a traditional pub grub menu, a special note to the girls who work here as they were friendly and nothing was to much trouble.

Parking was also a slight issue as the hotel has a "car park" but it only holds about 7 cars, and all the roads beside it you are limited to 1 hour wait between 8 and 6. I would go back, but mayby wait till the refurb is complete, on a side note other hotels in Stornoway for the night i was staying were asking 120 Pounds which is just ridiculous, so a dodgy shower was worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
13
28
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stirlngshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Maybe I don't expect as much as others who have posted reviews, but having just stayed for 4 days during National Mòd week, I found the County Hotel perfect for my needs - central location, friendly staff, good food (curries were excellent) and a decent sized, comfortable room. OK it's not the Ritz, but where in Scotland is, particularly out of the Central belt?

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThickL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Arrived early and this was not a problem at check-in. The staff were very nice and efficient and the Hotel was easy to find. The first room I was allocated was a smokers room and I asked at reception if I could be moved to a non smoking room and this was not a problem. The room I had was clean and tidy and had tea/coffee making facilities and a tv. It was a bit on the expensive side but the price is comparitable with the other accommodation that I looked at on the internet and was, indeed, on the lower side of the hotel prices. The decor upstairs is a bit dated but the downstairs is very nice and they have a nice big fishtank as well. I stayed on Saturday night and did not have a problem with being served on the Sunday, although I was up early and down before 9am. However, I would warn anyone that if you want to eat late in Stornoway you will not have much choice as most of the local restaurants close by 9pm. The only places to eat after that are 2 indian and 1 Chinese restaurant.

Room Tip: Remember to ask when booking whether you want a smoking or non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetTKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel has a lot of potential. However, the long promised upgrade to the accommodation should now take place. The rooms are simply appalling and are tittering on the edge of acceptability.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stornoway hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Bar and restaurant quite well modernised and staff nice. Hotel rooms are dire. 1970's decor done at low cost. Not maintained. Grubby. Small rooms. Everything seems to be tired and worn out. Bed lumpy and soft. Do not stay here unless no choice. Restricted parking too. Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gbleakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macritchieStornoway, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Because we are well aware that an upgrade is required, we are extremely careful to keep the hotel clean.
The first stage of our refurbishment has begun and the hospitality extended to guests is as good as anywhere in the UK. Our rate of return business is at the high end of the occupancy spectrum
and not once has anyone stated the hotel was dirty or considered it to be so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed overnight in Feb 2011, could not fault the food and drink, service was first class and the restaurant has been nicely refurbished, HOWEVER the accommodation was not of the standard expected for the price and the rooms require a major upgrade, which would make this premises by far the top venue in Stornoway.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveKathBla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hebrides
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Be warned- if you are the only guests on a Saturday night the hotel will become mysteriously "full" and you will be asked to leave as the owner doesn't believe in working on Sunday

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank settlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macritchieStornoway, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
While we are not open to the general public on a Sunday, we certainly cater for guests of the
hotel and have never refused to accommodate anyone if we had the rooms to let. We will not insist that a member of staff works on Sunday, but we have a many staff who have no objection to doing so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: 12-14 Francis Street, Stornoway HS1 2XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — County Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing