We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth an outside look”
Review of Lews Castle

Lews Castle
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Stornoway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: It’s not difficult to see why the Isle of Lewis consistently receives so much acclaim. From beaches and crystal clear waters that rival luxury tropical islands, to its rich history and stunning scenery, this remote and spectacular destination in the Outer Hebrides is the perfect venue for wonderful memories. Overlooking Stornoway harbour, the impressive gothic-revival style castle was built in the mid 1800’s by Sir James Matheson. Since then this beautiful building has also served as a hospital during WW2, a college, a school and now as an iconic wedding venue and luxurious holiday destination with Natural Retreats. Serving delicious hand-prepared dishes as well as local delicacies, our Storehouse cafe is the perfect place to take a moment after your exploration of the Lews Castle grounds. Enjoy a frothy coffee or two from the comfort of our unique eatery, before tucking into our tasty specials of the day. Pick up the perfect souvenir from your visit to our retail outlet 'The Outfitters', during your time at Lews Castle. From gorgeous gifts to luxury clothing and foodie treats, we've got you covered.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth an outside look”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not a classic castle but very worth a visit to see it in its prominent position looking over the town of Stornoway. They were doing a lot of restorative work when we visited so will probably be an improved site to visit once that is complete.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wounded_Galaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    115
    45
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayden Lake, ID
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A beautiful destination in the center of Stornoway”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a wonderful bonus for the people of this town. It's not just a castle, but a golf course, a large park with hiking trails, and a little café. There's a plaque that identifies the owner -- who made his fortune in the opium trade!! That means nowadays he would be labeled as a drug lord, but oh well, Autre temps . . .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MM3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Building site”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The park and all its amenities is open. the castle is being converted into a hotel and accomodation with an area for the chess man display. Its very much like a building site at the back near the college but great views of the castle at the front. Have a wander and go up o the monument.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowWinenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Monday visit”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This attraction is not open to the public the grounds are open which are very nice, at the time we went there was a lot of building work going on

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average or Better??”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were in Stornoway in early April and saw the scaffolding up around Lews Castle and therefore did not actually visit. However I was there 5 years ago and can verify that it is a beautiful structure and at that time I was saddened to hear that it was unused and basically going to ruin. Well now relatives tell me that the ongoing work will result in a hotel, eating spot and banquet facility. Great news; and all without a contribution from one of America's wealthier men!
In addition to the building, there are numerous paths to walk, flowers to see and a great view of Stornoway Harbour. There was also a small tea room on the grounds. All in all, I think that it will definitely be worth a stop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lstock47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lews Castle also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 

Been to Lews Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing