We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“frank and julie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solas Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solas Guest House
Ranked #4 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“frank and julie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Could not have wished for better , lovely room and great views , Karen and Iain are the perfect hosts and have so much useful info about the island , the house and rooms are immaculate and cannot be faulted , a return trip would definately be on the cards,but booking early would be a must

Room Tip: no difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
36
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

This lovely guest house and home is a wonderfull find and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our 3 night stay. Karen and Iain are great hosts and yes the breakfasts are first class (Iain being in charge). Our large immaculate room had a lovely view and its own balcony, what more could you want!
We loved our time in Lewis and Harris and this accomodation and hospitality made our holiday perfect.

Room Tip: Balcony room has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverSands16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

The standard of the guest house was really outstanding. Lovely room and great views outside on the balcony overlooking Broad Bay. The breakfast was of an exceptionally high standard and the hosts couldn't have been nicer. Definitely be back - on an island full of overpriced hotels and B&Bs, this was fantastic value for money and will recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddy_M20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Working on Lewis for a week i couldnt get booked into Stornoway til after my 3rd day because of the MOD Gaelic Festival.
Luckily there was a room availavle at the Solas Guest Houst which is 3 miles outside Stornoway in a beautiful location near the beach.
I have to say that the standard of the rooms was very high.The are large, modern, immaculate and all with great views.
I found the hosts Moira and Iain very warm and welcoming and couldnt help me enough.
The breakfasts were first class and Iain being a butcher provides with the best of stuff.
Next time im back in Lewis i will be staying here again and i highly recommend it to anyone who may be on business, or with a family or for a quiet break, this is a first class guest house with great hosts.
Will

Room Tip: All rooms are very standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
2.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 7 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 7 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 7 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.2 mi away
Twenty Seven
Twenty Seven
#3 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solas Guest House

Property: Solas Guest House
Address: 19C Melbost | Melbost Point, Stornoway HS2 0BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Solas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solas Guest House Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing