We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking a little.”
Review of Sandwick Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandwick Bay
Ranked #20 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Derby, East Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lacking a little.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thought I'd spend a day/night in Stornoway before the ferry back to mainland, and this is where I ended up. Not terrible, but it was slightly lacking. Had the ground floor single, with an excellent view of a garage and washing line, but the room was roomy, clean and warm.

However, some of that space could have used for such niceties as a chair or table / desk.There was basically no space to even write a postcard, and no communal lounge to use. Room had a sink, but the loo / shower was shared with the other ground floor rooms. Again, it was strangely lacking. Not even a hook to hang clothes from.

Breakfast was good, but again, lacking. No side plate for spreading toast. Owner was quite friendly, but I'm not planning to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big-Iain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
10
21
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms,lovely breakfast,nice welcome and very helpful,lovely view.but I'm afraid at £45 a night it is way overpriced.weve stayed in a lot bed n breakfasts on the islands and the usual is about £35 at the most.so I think £45 is too much

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank fras65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed as a party of ten during a recent charity cycle of the Hebrides. It was the most expensive accommodation we experienced. A bathroom shared between 5 rooms and a single room for £50! The rooms were clean and pleasant but the plumbing was appalling - gurgling sinks and paper thin walls. Everywhere else in the Hebrides was cheaper and most had en suite rooms. If you are staying in Stornoway avoid this place at all costs

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindyloo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We felt this was very over-priced for the quality of the accomodation. Our bedroom sink took a good 10 minutes to finish making strange noises after use but even worse it did exactly the same when the adjacent room used their sink. The walls between rooms were paper thin and it was only the politeness of our neighbours in keeping their noise to a minimum that avoided this being a problem. The door from the room was a fire door which didn't really fit and hadn't even been given a coat of varnish. It was on such a strong spring it was really difficult to open and also had to be careful it did not bang. We may haver misunderstood but were suprised to find the room was not en-suite and the bathroom we had to share needed to be replaced with a crack in the sink and generally rather worn features. Positively it was near the ferry and we were given a pack up for breakfast because we were going on the early ferry but that didn't really make-up for the rather average nature of everything else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Only a few minutes from the ferry terminal, Sandwick Bay B&B was a last minute but very good choice. Mine host, photographer par excellence Jim, could not have been more helpful. Very affable and friendly he is a perfect host. Room and bathroom (separate unfortunately, but we did know about the lack of an en-suite room) were immaculate. The breakfast by chef Inga was perfectly cooked. Thank you both for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Check whether en-suite available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Absolutley fantastic stay, Jim makes you feel absolutely at home, and between nattering away to us and giving us lifts to and from the airport though he needn't we were very quickly overwhelmed at the genuine care he had for his guests, Inga seemed lovely too, athough we dind't speak to her as much.

The communal bathroom for those rooms not en suite is huge, with a shower and bath. Was very impressed at size of the bath, rather than being squashed with my knees bent I could nearly lie fully submerged, lovely!

We shared the single room with balcony at the front of the house as they didn't have any doubles but the bed was sizeable, the room cosy and had its own sink/kettle/tv.

Breakfast again was faultless, I spoke to Jim and he takes care in sourcing the best local meats such as the stornoway black pudding. You order the night before so that in the morning after dosing you with sizeable pots of tea and coffee and giving you some toast he can get your brekkie straight out to you. He even said we could take a few bits for later if we wanted.

I am deffo staying here again before I leave the island. I personally think the place is absolutley fantastic, it has gorgeous views, is a ten min walk from town centre and the best host in the isles what more could you want?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smalladventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

For the money our room was a bit sparse with no ensuite and no toileteries other than those shared in the communal bathroom where the sink had no plug. The owner was very friendly and was happy to provide free lifts to and from the ferry port which is a fifteen minute walk away. The view from the front bedrooms across the bay and out to sea is beautiful. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandwick Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandwick Bay

Property: Sandwick Bay
Address: 30 Millar Road, Stornoway HS1 2RX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandwick Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished to a high standard; en-suites are all in marble. Wonderful south facing unrestricted sea views. LCD TVs in all rooms. Lounge has large 42 inch LCD and satellite TV with free use of large binocular. Free secure parking. Perfectly located near ferry terminal and airport yet only 10 minutes walk from centre of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandwick Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandwick Bay Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing