We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hostel Experience”
Review of Heb Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heb Hostel
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Wonderful Hostel Experience”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As with all of Scotland, if any of your party are rather tall, no bed will be very comfortable for them. However, for the average person, the beds are all great. Four of us stayed in the family dorm together and had a wonderful experience. Open a window and turn on the space heater provided, or it tends to get a wee bit stuffy at night.

Christine runs a clean, warm, and comfortable hostel in Stornoway. I would recommend staying at Heb Hostel to anyone making their way through Lewis. There are pay-to-use washers and dryers (two of each) in a well set-up laundry room at the back of the hostel, pay to use towels, and the beds/bathrooms are very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
11
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very friendly and helpful owners. Relaxed almost like home atmosphere. Great value for price. Pleasant surprise - free breakfast. Excellent location. Free parking nearby. Highly recommendable place to stay. Mark 10/10

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rldTraveller1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Spent a night in the Heb Hostel last week and had a fantastic time. Christine, the owner, could not be more welcoming and goes above and beyond what would be expected. Hostel is spotlessly clean, rooms spacious, beds comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place puts a new interpretation on hostel. Quality space with excellent facilities, this is the one to stay in. If you are looking for a hostel service you will be delighted with this place

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms better as ground floor room close to front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent hostel, friendly owner. Clean, all mod cons, the bathroom in the ladies dorm was excellent and the bunks were comfortable. Very well positioned near both the ferry and bus station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larnarlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights and had a great time - it really feels like you're in a home rather than a hostel, probably the cosiest hostel I've ever stayed in, and the rooms were large and comfortable. Having the lounge space was also great and the free breakfast is always a bonus as it saves you carrying around fresh stuff. Overall an enjoyable stay for us.

My only reason for giving a 3-star rating overall is that we both commented that whilst our stay was fine, the hostel could easily become very overcrowded. As it is a converted house rather than a purpose-built building, the kitchen and lounge are of a normal house size - i.e. fine if there's not many people there, but more than a couple of people trying to use the kitchen at a time would quickly become unmanagable. Similarly, there weren't a huge number of bathrooms for the number of beds and potential guests. Even though there were only 5 or 6 people other than us staying, we found we had to wait to use the kitchen and sometimes the lounge was full - maybe not much of a problem in reality though if the place doesn't fill up that often.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

clean, tidy, cheap, and breakfast included! brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heb Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heb Hostel

Property: Heb Hostel
Address: 25 Kenneth Street, Stornoway HS1 2DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heb Hostel is a family run backpackers hostel in the centre of Stornoway, heart of the Outer Hebrides. Ideally situated close to the Stornoway-Ullapool ferry and main bus-station makes it a convenient stop/stay for travellers visiting the tranquil Western Isles. We offer 4 star accommodation at reasonable prices, close to all local amenities and our facilities include: cosy common room with peat fire; fully equipped kitchen; free self-service breakfast; comfy hand crafted beds; laundry; secure cycle shed; internet access and free wifi; hot showers; free bed linen; garden and BBQ area. We look forward to welcoming you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heb Hostel Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing