We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, beware of noise though!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jannel Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, beware of noise though!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Stornoway, our host was very helpful in answering all our questions of getting around. In the rain, the location was a little far from town without many options nearby for food. But, if the weather is fine you are in easy walking distance - 15mins.
The only thing we struggled with was the noise of the hosts teenage children running up and down the stairs early in the morning as they got ready for school.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alasdair_macdougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JannelStornoway, Owner at Jannel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. The day you stayed with us was the first day back to school after the Christmas holidays - and unfortunately there was a lot of noise from the children going up and downstairs as they got their bags and uniforms. It's not usually noisy in the morning here, but it is a family home as well as a B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
103
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed one night at the start of a trip around the islands. My room was spotless and well-appointed and I had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious too. The B&B is about 15 mnutes walk from the ferry, so you might be advised to get a taxi on arrival, but the walk back into town isn't difficult. Very friendly host.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentwoman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

A welcome from my car and shown to my room. Good night's sleep and a lovely cooked breakfast. The next evening, with it being Sunday, Helen served a roast dinner (extra but v reasonable) and hot pudding that was delicious. No complaints and will use again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Free internet was good but not constantly/consistently fast enough for steaming video. This may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthless2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in Oct 2011 and we had a great time. We arrived to a nice modern room with everything you'd need (tea and coffee, digital tv, comfy kingsize bed and a power shower to die for!). The owners seemed very nice and accommodating, especially since we had a dog with us. The B&B is a 10 minute walk out of central Stornoway and is in a pleasant suburb. The breakfast we were served was delicious with local Stornoway black pudding which I highly recommend! All in all I recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Stornoway, I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Duce83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

My friend and I were staying in Stornoway visiting another friend who is working in the hospital, so the location was perfect for us. Helen was so friendly and laid back. She made us feel very welcome. The room was huge and you would have thought you were the only people staying as it was so quiet. The beds were unbelievably comfortable, we both slept like babies and the shower was fantastic. Breakfast was perfect to start the day off and when we checked out, Helen was very kind to let us stay until 12.
No complaints at all.

Room Tip: We had the room upstairs which is huge and very quiet. It had a double and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

My took my father on a trip to Scotland, and this B&B was one of the highlights of our trip. It's easily located about 5 minutes away from the ferry terminal - if you google map it, you'll easily find it.

We arrived on the evening ferry after a rough crossing, and Helen was so kind and inviting - she put us both at ease immediately. The room was fabulous! I booked a twin, and we ended up getting a large room with a single bed and a king - heaven! The king was a new bed I didn't want to get out of, and the single even had a memory foam top to it. Lots of room for luggage and moving about, and even a nice table if you wanted to eat some nibbles or whatever. Bathroom had a nice, hot shower with lots of pressure, and I loved the thirsty, full sized towels provided.

For morning, we had one of the best breakfasts on our trip. Helen is a wonderful cook, and the omelette was divine. When I was settling the bill later on that morning, I got to chatting with Helen and her friend, and I wished we could have stayed longer. Definitely the type of people you can settle in with a nice cup of tea and gasbag for awhile. Helen is very knowledgeable about the Island, too, and she kindly steered us to the Blue Spotted Pig - a must, you need to drop in here - and told us about some other fascinating spots off the beaten path.

All in all, you should come here and stay 2-3 days, at least. There's lots to see and do on this Island - not nearly as travelled as Skye, but far more interesting and genuine, I think. Jannel's is the perfect spot to base yourself, and I hope and intend to be back.

Room Tip: Get the omelette for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford,UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Very nicely decorated and equipped B&B. Our room, which had a large double bed and a single bed, was spacious, and with a good size shower room. Very clean and comfortable. Flat screen TV and free wi-fi too - excellent value for money. Helen was very welcoming and told us that the Stornaway carnival was about to start, so we dumped our bags and walked over to watch the parade - great fun. It takes about 20 mins to walk into the town centre - can recommend Digby Chick's restaurant for dinner. The Stornaway museum is also worth a visit to see the Lewis chessmen.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 7 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 7 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 7 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Twenty Seven
Twenty Seven
#3 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jannel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jannel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Stewart Drive, Stornoway HS1 2TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jannel Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jannel B&B is a modern, friendly, family home on the outskirts of Stornoway. We offer free wi-fi, home-cooked food including special diets and a warm welcome. Our rooms are all en-suite and we offer off-road parking, drying and bike storage facilities. Disabled accessible; VisitScotland 4 star; Green Tourism Gold Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jannel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jannel Bed And Breakfast Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing