We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Villa B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Villa B&B
Ranked #13 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
South Cumbria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently stayed at Seaside Villa on our tour of the Scottish islands and highlands and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We totally agree with all the positive comments that have been written. Thank you to Margaret and Bill for such a lovely few days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVSSouthCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
39
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

A very welcoming and friendly B&B...our room was a bit on the small side but comfortable...our friends had the upstairs room which was very spacious but only velux windows so no view of the lovely beach opposite the house...Excellent breakfast with good choice and nothing was a problem for Margaret and her husband Bill...Gave us all the information we wanted on the area and even supplied us with good Restaurants in Stornoway itself...A bit out of Stornoway but not too far and you wouldn't want to be right in Stornoway anyway...would certainly return.

Room Tip: If you want space go for the upstairs room unless you want the view go for the front room which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janrobone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this little B&B while touring the Isle of Lewis. Margaret treated us like family and was very accomodating. The breakfast was delicious. A bit out of town, but Stornaway is not much of an attraction anyway. We highly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The owner Margaret is nice enough, and as we had a very early departure the next day, she offered us a discount as we were only having cereal for breakfast. Fairplay.

But this B&B is never 4 star. The en-suite is clearly retro-fitted and with the bedroom/en-suite space being very tight, it hasnt been thought through properly e.g. shelf for kettle had no adjacent powerpoint. The finishes and linen is dated. Worst B&B out of 6 we stayed at in our Highlands trip

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rossflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
246 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

As soon as we arrived and met Margaret the laughter started and we knew that we had booked the best place. Quite simply Margaret and her husband Bill are down to earth, kind, friendly without being intrusive and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfasts are amazing and the ginger cake in the bedroom is a nice touch. The location is ideal, just the right distance from Stornoway and the beach across the road is lovely. Margaret had some great tips for places to visit and also places to eat. We found eating out in Stornoway was superb. Every place we tried was of high quality with very reasonable prices. The eating places in Stornoway certainly put some of the places on the mainland to shame. Margaret was also kind enough to obtain an address and phone number for an old friend of my parents who I hadn't seen for at least 40 years.
I really can't understand some of the negative comments about Margaret. Our downstairs rooms were slightly cramped to be truthful but were comfortable and clean. The prices charged reflect value for money. I wish we could have stayed longer and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Very friendly, simply a great place to stay. Free wi-fi and Gaelic speaking too!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraslet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

The proprietors were very welcoming and helpful. We had the upstairs bedroom, with a spacious private bathroom. The downstairs room, that my sister and husband had, was rather more cramped and had a small en-suite shower room, and was rather more dated than the room my wife and I enjoyed. Breakfasts were very good, with some choices. I would not hesitate to stay again, but would request the upstairs twin room!

Room Tip: The upstairs twin room with private bathroom was more spacious than the downstairs double bedded roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solas Guest House
Solas Guest House
#4 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twenty Seven
Twenty Seven
#3 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Villa B&B

Property: Seaside Villa B&B
Address: | Back, Stornoway HS2 0LQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Seaside Villa B&B Stornoway, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing