We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Seascape Cottage

View from single track road. Private driveway leading to enclosed private garden and parking area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from single track road. Private driveway leading to enclosed private garden and parking area.
Front of house with decked area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
View from single track road. Private driveway leading to enclosed private garden and parking area.
Front of house with decked area
View from the porch looking over the Braighe (causeway)
Merry Christmas
Kitchen area
Dining room showing access to garden
Emergency beach kit!
Downstairs double bedroom with sea and mountain views. Located next to bathroom.
Upstairs double bedroom with sea and mountain views looking over the Braighe
Upstairs twin bedroom with sea and mountain views looking over the Braighe
Bathroom
Family bathroom.
Private driveway to parking area
View from house
Friendly Nay-bours!
View from house
View from Dun Carloway Broch
Bhaltos peninsula near Uig, Lewis
Reef beach, near Uig
Dalmore beach, Lewis
Dal Beag Beach, Isle of Lewis
Luskentyre with Taransay in the background
Christmas sunset at Luskentyre
Callanish (Callanais) Stones
Sunrise from Tiumpan Head near Seacscape Cottage
Aurora from our House
Follow your dreams
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
JMartin07...
Sudbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Seascape Cottage for 6 nights in early April. The cottage was homey, well appointed and very relaxing; it had everything we needed and more. The views were fantastic and the cottage itself is as advertised.

We had a great time visiting the Butt of Lewis, Port of Ness, Callanish Stones and travelling to Tarbert in Harris.

The Segway around Lews Castle was a highlight.

Thank you Morag and Richard for a most enjoyable stay in Lewis, we hope to be back at some point in the future.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
So pleased you had such a great holiday and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McSkiffle
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, perfect location, dog friendly.”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We visited Seascape Cottage for a few days after New Year and it was a perfect place to start the year.
The cottage has been beautifully decorated, is spotlessly clean and has everything you could possibly need for your stay. Downstairs has a double bedroom and bathroom so perfect for those with reduced mobility. Our son is a wheelchair user and other than one tiny step into the kitchen, he could get around the ground floor easily. Morag and Richard have supplied an abundance of information on local attractions, things to do and menus for local eateries and takeaways. There is also a large selection of DVDs and games for all ages to enjoy in the cosiness of the cottage in the evening.
The views from the cottage are stunning and every bedroom benefits from them. Location is perfect, just 10 minutes from Stornoway and the ferry terminal but quiet and remote with easy road access to explore the island. Dogs are welcome at Seascape and they have a huge, enclosed garden to safely run around in.
We had a wonderful visit and are just sad that it was only for a few days. We'll definitely be back to Seascape and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
Thank you for such a great review! We are so pleased you had a lovely christmas and enjoyed your time at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well-equipped, cosy, beautiful views. Recommended.”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in this lovely 'white house', just a ten minute drive from the ferry terminal at Stornaway. The directions to the house were easy to follow and we had no problems finding it. We are a family of four - two adults and two children (ages 13 and 10). The cottage is extremely well-equipped, the owners really have thought of everything to make it a home-from-home. The view from the house is simply stunning - a wide sweep of Broad Way, the causeway leading to the main part of Lewis and the airport too. It is quiet and peaceful, a great place to get away from it all.

There is a large outdoor space with picnic table and benches if the weather is good enough, and plenty of parking space.

The house is well furnished and comfortable throughout. There are three really good sized bedrooms all comfortably furnished with bed side tables and lights (a must - so many places we've stayed in involve getting up to turn the light out once you've finished your bed time reading). The owners have put a lot of effort into renovating and updating the house and it really shows. Importantly for the north of Scotland the heating works really well and the house soon felt warm and cosy when we arrived cold after spending most of the ferry journey up on deck admiring the beautiful views.

Well worth a stay, we will be back next year!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2016
Thank you! We would love to welcome you back to Seascape cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zappion4
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A very nice house, well equipped and clean. The views are stunning.
The owners, Morag & Richard visited us to see that everything was ok.
We would definitely book Sea Scape again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the house
Liked least: No wifi (but managed without it)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Thank you for takng the time to write a review, much appreciated. We are looking into getting wifi so hopefully if you visit us again it will be available. Kindest regards Morag & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karz58
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage, Stunning Views”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here from 15th to 18th July 2016 with family.

The cottage is very well equipped with everything provided that you could possibly need.

Good quality furniture and lovely comfortable beds with good quality bedding. The views are stunning.

I would highly recommend this rental and only wish our stay was for a bit longer.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Hopefully we will see you back again so you can spend more time on the island! Very best regards Morag & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing