We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home at the end of the world.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carloway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very warm welcoming.
The house is rustic and perfect and warm and fully equipped.
Cosy environment when raining outside.
Beautiful scenery.

Also there were dozens of rabbits (they venture around the houses showing no fear) and goats (cute and calm) everywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

An attractive restored village of blackhouses situated within a two minute walk of the sea. Although a tourist attraction, they did not present a problem to us. We stayed a week and the weather was good with some rain and wind, but also sun. As mobile phones do not reach the site, this is an additional attraction (signal available about a mile away). The accommodation was clean and warm with views towards the North Pole.

The friendly staff were very helpful, providing assistance on how to light the peat burning stove. Coal and copious amounts of peat were provided free. Great white-sand beaches, Neolithic standing stones, seclusion and great walks are the main attractions of the island (plus Harris Tweed).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeerkatYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Visited the museum and the reconstructed houses in June. They are very interesting and the videos showing the weaving, peat digging, etc are well worth watching. The holiday houses were being cleaned when we were there and they looked to be well- maintained and would be interesting to stay in. the staff we met were very friendly and chatty and we thoroughly enjoyed the visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KCL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just returned to Aberdeen after a 6day stay in tigh glass. The black house was fantastic and the pictures did not do it justice. It had all mod cons and the view out of the front door are fantastic. We had rain, sun, wind and a bit of drizzle which only went to make the views more amazing. We will be back again and this time, staying for longer than 6 days.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Hector M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The blackhouse village is listed as major visitor attraction in Lewis, but when you get there and pay the £2-70 to get in you discover it only has a tiny 'museum' and the rest of the village is given over to the hostel. As a visitor attraction I rate this very poorly, as a place to stay beware of the hoards of tourists that will be around looking for the rest of the visitor attraction for which they have just paind to enter but does not exist.
Overall I would recommed visiting Harris rather than Lewis for sceneryand beaches.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank HJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were fortunate enough to book one of the modernized blackhouses for a stay of three days. Our cottage was a perfect balance of rustic architecture and modern updates with a warm fire and fully equipped kitchen. The staff were friendly and helpful, and I especially appreciated Mairi's concierge-like attention and patience. Many scenic and historic attractions are nearby, and it was charming to meet visitors at our doorstep who thought we were part of the village life exhibits. (Mairi helpfully suggested that we keep the door locked to keep day visitors from wandering in, but this was not a problem at all.) We hope to come back for a longer stay in the future and have already recommended Gearannan to friends. I should also note that this rental is priced competitively and that we saved a lot of money preparing our own meals in the very nice kitchen. Being from Hawaii, I have to say we were shown true "Aloha" here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeaauFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in the one-bedroom cottage, which though rated only 3-star was ideal for our purposes. Clean and cosy, it looks out to a bay onto the Atlantic, ideal to watch the setting sun after a hard day's sightseeing of Lewis and Harris (or sunbathing on the best beaches in the world, in the recent heatwave!). Higly recommended, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carloway
15.8 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices

Been to Gearrannan Blackhouse Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearrannan Blackhouse Village

Address: Carloway | Isle of Lewis, Carloway HS2 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Carloway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Carloway
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village Hotel Carloway
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village Carloway, Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing