We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Visit with pals”
other travelers have booked this property
Picture of house sitting in own extensive grounds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picture of house sitting in own extensive grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Picture of house sitting in own extensive grounds
Kitchen
Damore beach
Cliffs at back of croft
Blackhouse village
Blackhouse village
Surfing beach near house
View from house
Cafe in village
Sunset at Dalbeag beach
Spacious shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hazel F
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit with pals”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Extremely comfortable and warm house. Well equipped kitchen with everything you would need to cook a variety of meals. Immaculately clean with lovely sheets and towels. Very cosy with central heating and a coal fire. It felt very much like staying in someone's own home.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
I like everything to be well organised for guests as people should be able to relax and enjoy their holiday so that it is a real home from home.
Thanks very much for the positive review - makes all the hard work worthwhile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egg58
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super cottage great location”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the craft house for five nights in Sept. The location is perfect for seeing the sights of the Isle of Lewis. It was clean and cozy and had everything we needed. You can walk to a Blackhouse village and a small beach plus you have easy access to the west coast path. Additionallyi It is only a short drive to the Callanish Stones ,again, it was perfect for what we had wanted to do.
The cottage is in a somewhat remote location so we stocked up on groceries in Stornoway before we arrived .
If you are looking for a snug base to explore the west coast of Lewis this is perfection.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Delighted to hear that the house met your expectations. I think it is a good base to explore the island with many attractions nearby and it is great to have this confirmed by visitors. We like to ensure the house is a comfortable base to return to at the end of a long day sightseeing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galluscat...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house in beautiful area”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Easy to book the house and it was exactly as described on the site. Property was homely with great kitchen and very effective heating system. There were books and games and a lovely open fire. Views were spectacular and secure garden great for kids or dogs. There are sheep in the neighbouring croft but fortunately the fence in the garden is substantial. For those with dogs its a three min walk through the croft to open moorland at the back where there were no sheep. Neighbours proved to be friendly and we loved our stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of peace and warmth in the house.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
I'm so glad you found the house exactly as described. I try to be as accurate as possible as people can be prepared for their holiday and have a much more enjoyable stay.it is a great place for walking with easy access to the common grazing land and on over to the beach at Dalmore.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom R
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Island Paradise for a Fortnight.”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our second time at this croft house. Great location with a great view over a loch onto the hills south on the island. Fabulous wildlife abounds, otters in the bay, eagles and sea eagles passing by, fantastic walking and climbing nearby and we had almost two weeks of wonderful weather. Definitely will go back. Relaxing at night with the fire on and talking about the day's activities made each day active but restful, and with very little TV watching. We even saw the Northern Lights out the back door, me for the first time in 29 years and for the other three, for their first time ever. Simply wonderful.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and the open fire and an amazing night of the Northern Lights
Liked least: There were no sheep next door thsi time to keep Enzo our dog transfixed
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Quite a few guests have seen the Northern Lights this year and wonderful sunsets are common. 4 seasons in one day as they say. The island is a definite must for those who love walking and exploring nature. A very elemental place to take you away from the stresses of modern life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel P
Cilleyville, New Hampshire, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great stay in a nice home.”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Catriona really makes this house feel like a home. She was easy to communicate with and gave us great directions.
My kids enjoyed the unique kitchen chairs and I really enjoyed the electric blankets.
The neighbors were nice and we enjoyed watching the sheep. The bookcase was full of interesting books and we really enjoyed the view. The appliances worked and the house was well stocked.
The house was close to such amazing scenery and it really felt good to come "home" after a day of sightseeing. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and homey feel.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
I'm glad you found the house homely. We try to make sure it is comfortable and not just a standard rental house. I also try to ensure that the house retains its old features but its really important to have good modern appliances or a holiday becomes hard work. The books seem to be popular with many of them about the island and its history as well as some that are a "good read"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ D
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Excellent location if you want to experience the quieter area of the Island. We travelled out everyday as culture vultures and the locals were very friendly. GPS in the area is mimimum and there are a few bars and cafes that offer free wi-fi. A must see is the Callanish stones at sunset, Norman weaving Harris Tweed on his Loom and the beaches down the West coast of Harris.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunsets
Liked least: No GPS or Wi-fi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
I'm glad you enjoyed the area. The village is very friendly and people are keen to meet visitors and demonstrate their weaving or other skills. It is as you say a remote location with great scenery and sunsets but not good on wifi The local hotel 2 miles away has public wifi, which is very useful. Despite being on the quieter side of the island it is a vibrant community and Carloway is well populated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicilie R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Experience the wildness of Lewis combined with the comfort of a family home”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our first time to Lewis - and we were blown away (literally sometimes!) by the scenery, the people and the history. Catriona's house was lovely - a real home from home, and fully equipped, with thoughtful additions in the kitchen cupboard. And the bookcases are full of interesting reads! I particularly loved the morning walk with the dog to the Blackhouses and on to the cliffs for more spectacular views, and to watch the sunset from same place is a must! Only thing I would suggest is that if you are travelling from Skye to Tarbert (beautiful journey!) and arrive on a Saturday be mindful of the few shops - you might want to pick up some perishables sooner rather than later.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nature - fabulous walking
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2015
Thanks for his helpful review and the tip about essential supplies. I've now put in a list of essential supply sources in my initial info for people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing