We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“hoiiday home from heaven”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cliscro

Spacious Double Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious Double Bedroom
Callanish Stones, 10 min drive. Cliscro From across the Loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Spacious Double Bedroom
Callanish Stones, 10 min drive.
Cliscro From across the Loch
Dining with a View
Traditional Range
Garden View
Well Equipped Kitchen
Cosy Fire in Living Room
Bright Family Bathroom
Comfortable Twin Room
Carloway View
Borrowston
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village. 5 min drive
Dun Carloway Broch. 8 min drive
Dalmore Beach , 5 min drive.
Carloway Pier, 10 min walk
Isle of Harris Golf Course , A Scenic Hours Drive
Stornoway Town
Harris Beaches, A Stunning Day Trip.
Meet the Neighbours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Iain M
1 review
“hoiiday home from heaven”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent a wonderful week in this lovely cottage on holiday in Lewis. Eleanor the owner couldn't have been more helpful. The cottage was spotless and everything was on hand and easy to use. The views over the sea loch and pier were fantastic and it was cosy at night with the fire on. Tip... stock up on supplies in Stornoway shops so you can spend more time exploring as we did and enjoying such a calm, relaxing and beautiful place. The beach 10 mins away was great. We've booked up for next year!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage setting and quiet area
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweetaz22
Toogoom, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ultimate break away from it all.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We travelled to the Carloway area of the Isle of Lewis to visit friends and explore the magical surrounds and were not disappointed! Ellie and Stuart were the most gracious of hosts, and the beautifully restored cottage was a glorious base to seeing the key attractions of this haunting isle, such as the Callanish Stones, blackhouses, perfect beaches, and the Butt of Lewis. However the conundrum for us was leaving the wonderfully comfortable cottage at all! Magnificent views over the sea loch and crofts were a joy to behold from the relaxing lounge with fireplace and massive library of books and DVDs. The very spacious kitchen was equipped with seemingly everything you could possibly want, including a range oven to keep the whole cottage very cosy! The weather, even in May, can be variable and so having such a well appointed house as a base really made our holiday something special.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joeyzag
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fantastic break away from the stress of modern life.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Spent a truely chilled out week at the cottage. My wife, both dogs and myself managed to recharge the batteries in perfect harmony. The cottage has everything you need and carloway/Borrowston is the ideal place. We loved the isolation and just being away from pressures of modern life, our host was exceptional and we have booked again.

The prefect jewel in the crown of lewis

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Setting
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarryByrn...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flexiblilty of owners to give a peaceful cottage (full of lovely personal touches) for half week only”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We arranged a half week at the property to explore the West Side of Lewis.
The property was clean and warm with an Aga/Range cooker dominating the kitchen. This took a small bit of getting used and only thanks to the good instructions provided (it was good to get the experience of such a cooker actually).
The master bedroom was spacious and comfortable and we enjoyed watching the full moon through the skylights.
Overall we can't fault the property and the views were great. The flexibility of the owners to allow a half week stay was deeply appreciated and good west coast hospitality. The little chocolates and other goodies made us feel welcome.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennyBath...
Bathgate
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Gem at the top of the hill”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

An absolutely stunning property with an outlook to match. Carloway sea loch can be seen from the window and only a few minutes walk away is a picturesque working pier. There are two stunning beaches within 5 minutes drive.

The house has a huge kitchen with cooker, Raeburn, dishwasher, washing machine, tumbler dryer etc. All kitchen gadgets are included and are of great quality. There is also a separate dining room with great views and a huge living room from which eagles can be seen

There is wooden flooring throughout and an absolutely huge master bedroom upstairs.

I will definitely be advising any one I know heading for The Isle of Lewis for a holiday to try and stay here.

We received a very warm welcome, typical of Hebridean hospitality, from the owners Eleanor and Stuart!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, comfortable, amazing views and a lovely warm welcome.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What a wonderful cottage. Great facilities and very well equipped - even down to the provision of beach towels. Obviously well refurbished and very clean. The gorgeous weather just added to the stunningness of the location - can highly recommend taking a glass of wine to the end of the road and watching the sun set over the sea, or even sitting outside the house listening to the corncrakes at midnight. A lovely walk past the Blue Pig craft shop to the Gearrannan Black House for delicious cakes. Don't forget buy your tweed from the local weavers - have already made some cushion covers. The weather was so wonderful, I was swimming in the sea at 10 am! However do watch the strong undertow at the local beach - Dail Mor. Plenty of space for the kids to play and paddle though. An amazing beach and we were the only ones there. Incredible. Would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants to get away from it all. Definitely a dose of West Coast Therapy!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome, the comfort and the views
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosL5247
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Peaceful, relaxing getaway with fantastic views.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband, mother and I had a fantastic time staying at Cliscro. We felt so at home and so welcomed by Eleanor and Stuart, who went out of their way to make our stay truly memorable. The house is in a fantastic location, perched on a hill overlooking two lochs and beautiful green hills. It is positioned so that all the windows have views of the lovely countryside. Even when the days we were there were a little drizzly the views were still magnificent. We were surprised by how much there is to see in the area. In Carloway itself we found a lovely artist in residence at the Blue Pig, a short walk from the house, who was very welcoming. There was also a gentleman demonstrating the traditional Harris Tweed weaving, who was really interesting and it was a great place to aquire some of this beautiful cloth. Additionally, there are lots of historical sights within easy reach of the accommodation including Callanish standing stones. Everywhere we went on Lewis we were rewarded with outstanding views and the beaches are excellent. It is a great place to get away from the crowd and really be absorbed in the beauty of nature. We would highly recommend staying here, it really was special. One thing to note is that you should have your own transport, which can be hired on the island.

Date of stay: June 2013
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views and comfortable accomodation.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing