We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, relaxing getaway with fantastic views.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cliscro

Spacious Double Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious Double Bedroom
Callanish Stones, 10 min drive. Cliscro From across the Loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Spacious Double Bedroom
Callanish Stones, 10 min drive.
Cliscro From across the Loch
Dining with a View
Traditional Range
Garden View
Well Equipped Kitchen
Cosy Fire in Living Room
Bright Family Bathroom
Comfortable Twin Room
Carloway View
Borrowston
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village. 5 min drive
Dun Carloway Broch. 8 min drive
Dalmore Beach , 5 min drive.
Carloway Pier, 10 min walk
Isle of Harris Golf Course , A Scenic Hours Drive
Stornoway Town
Harris Beaches, A Stunning Day Trip.
Meet the Neighbours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
RosL5247
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, relaxing getaway with fantastic views.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband, mother and I had a fantastic time staying at Cliscro. We felt so at home and so welcomed by Eleanor and Stuart, who went out of their way to make our stay truly memorable. The house is in a fantastic location, perched on a hill overlooking two lochs and beautiful green hills. It is positioned so that all the windows have views of the lovely countryside. Even when the days we were there were a little drizzly the views were still magnificent. We were surprised by how much there is to see in the area. In Carloway itself we found a lovely artist in residence at the Blue Pig, a short walk from the house, who was very welcoming. There was also a gentleman demonstrating the traditional Harris Tweed weaving, who was really interesting and it was a great place to aquire some of this beautiful cloth. Additionally, there are lots of historical sights within easy reach of the accommodation including Callanish standing stones. Everywhere we went on Lewis we were rewarded with outstanding views and the beaches are excellent. It is a great place to get away from the crowd and really be absorbed in the beauty of nature. We would highly recommend staying here, it really was special. One thing to note is that you should have your own transport, which can be hired on the island.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views and comfortable accomodation.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: felt like my own house
Liked least: the wind and rain but this is scotland
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esquivel3
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband, son, his partner and I stayed here for a week and were very happy with the cottage. The kitchen is exceptionally well equipped so preparing meals was no problem. As the cottage is fairly remote it is necessary to ensure that supplies are picked up on the way as there is no corner store nearby. There is a hotel which provides meals about 10 minutes drive away, but we only ate there once, preferring to eat at the cottage. We found the evenings quite chilly but there was plenty of fuel provided for the fuel stove in the kitchen which also heated the water and radiators. In addition, there is a large range of dvds, books and board games provided for entertainment. One very nice touch was the wine, cake and biscuits left as a welcome by the owner. We loved it all and were very sorry to leave.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
“Autumn on Lewis”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

I slept in the ground floor bedroom and can testify to the comfort and warmth of the beds. On a sunny morning a good start to the day is walking out in the garden or across the road coffee in hand to admire the view over the loch and enjoy the quiet. On an intemperate morning the view can be admired from the living room leaning gently against the radiator. Gently as the radiators get toasty hot very quickly. At the other end of the day the low light pollution makes the sky spectacular on a clear night. The living room suite is very comfortable for lounging around on while taking advantage of the WiFi to stay in touch. The Gearrannan Black house village is a pleasant walk along the road with the promise of lunch or at least a bit of cake at the tearoom. For the adventurous the long way is to walk to Dail Mor and approach Gearrannan over the cliff walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and situation
Liked least: the vaccuum cleaner
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing