We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We'll be back!”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Living area and multi fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Living area and multi fuel stove
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Well equipped kitchen
Hallway to bedrooms and shower room
Shower room
Twin room
Double bedroom
Garden & utility shed
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
teuchter1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 5 nights in October. From the warm reception by Val and Calum to the lovely home baking and local meats and shellfish the reception at An Taigh Clach was superb. Its a great base from which to explore Lewis with lots to see locally.
This is the best accommodarion in which we have stayed and the kids loved the place. We would happily have stayed for another week and all agree we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners attention to detail and warm reception or the quality of the property.
Liked least: Maybe its just me (being well padded) but we found the double bed mattress uncomfortably hard.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W
1 review
“A Home from Home”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Back for our 5th visit and had a wonderful time once again. Val and Calum really make the stay special with a great holiday home and welcome. We've stayed there in Spring, Autumn and even Winter; it's a special place whatever the season and weather. Carloway is a great base for exploring Lewis and Harris, and beyond. Beautiful place to see the stars, aurora, wildlife and historic sites. Dalmore beach is awesome and only 5 minutes away by car; a gem to add to all the other great beaches. We love it, and our dogs love it even more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire
Liked least: Shower
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice-et...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our arrival was so warm and welcoming despite the storm outside! Val and Callum were waiting with the log burner on, shopping done and fridge stocked, a delicious selection of home bakes, wine, flowers, freezer full of salmon and lamb, coffee pods... I could go on and on! We have stayed in many holiday cottages but never in one so well equipped with such friendly, thoughtful and helpful hosts. Home from home with everything we could have needed. In fact in most cottages that we have stayed in we haven't even met the owners and we certainly couldn't call them hosts! The fresh lobster and crab cooked by Val and shown how to prepare it by Callum was a very tasty treat at the end of our week. The location of the cottage is perfect for exploring the island, with some beautiful beaches within 5 minutes of the cottage. Our week was only spoiled by the weather and an unexpected oil rig being washed up on Dalmore beach, but these are obviously outwith anyone's control. I would love to go back and would have no hesitation in recommending An Taigh Clach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effjay_83
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantasic property that exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fantastic week on Lewis in such a lovely holiday home. Val and Calum were extremely welcoming by way of homemade cakes, whisky, freshly caught crab and a tour of the local area. The house itself is beautifully done and spotlessly clean - we couldn't have asked for anything better and would highly recommend this property.

Lewis itself is a must-visit for its beautiful deserted beaches. We were very, very lucky with the weather and lack of midges, but I don't think the more typical wet and windy weather would have affected our enjoyment of the place. There are lots of sights to see and places to visit, and we felt thoroughly relaxed after a week away. One word of caution: eating out in restaurants is difficult as there are not many of them and on the one night we tried, the place was already fully booked so plan ahead.

We'll definitely be back as we only touched on the northern part of Harris and want to explore the more hilly landscape there more thoroughly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard or presentation and cleanliness.
Liked least: I can't think of anything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn S
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful country!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent a week on The Isle of Lewis in June and it was beautiful. The cottage is just lovely. Calum and Valerie were great hosts! They gave us a warm welcome! Which included wine and some delicious baked goods (scones and cupcakes). They even brought us some fresh caught crab!!
The cottage is in excellent condition. I have nothing negative to say about it!! I would go back again and I would recommend staying at An Taigh Clach to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was beautiful
Liked least: The narrow roads
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serendipi...
By the sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding.”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Well-equipped and very comfortable house with spacious livingroom with panoramic views. Well located to West of Harris close to many of the sights (Callanish etc) and wonderfully quiet. We really appreciated the additional steps the owner had taken to make us at home - local lamb in the freezer etc. The best self-catering we've stayed in by far and we plan to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jswhalley
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sheer Bliss”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

An Taigh Clach lives up to and exceeds your expectations. It is everything described as on the web pages and more. We only met our host Val on the last evening ( awaiting a grandchild on the mainland, congratulations!) but we were welcomed by Kathy Ann and shortly afterwards Val's son Murdo and Cat who filled us in on everything we needed to know, giving us advise on places to go and which weaver to visit, our visit to the weaver was a high light of our holiday, he was so knowledgeable and gracious with his time to us, a real living history lesson. During the week Murdo and Cat, not forgetting their son Murray,came for a visit bearing treasures of the sea. Fresh lobster and monster crab claws were prepared for us, nothing tastes better than these, it was a banquet fit for a king.
The cottage itself was beautiful, spacious and equipped with everything you could think of and even what you couldn't! It was so tastefully decorated and all the added touches were irresistable; Val's home baking, home reared mutton and salmon in the freezer, bottles of red and white wine and not forgetting the wee tipple of "Old Pultney". The cupboards were well stocked with the basics and more, to which we added some thingS and used some things. This is by far the best designed and equipped holiday cottage we have ever rented.
The location was so peaceful and stunning which could be enjoyed so much from the panoramic windows in the living area. A place we could have moved into permanently if only work didn't call us back! We were welcomed and treated like part of the family, who knows we might even get a wedding invite!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing