We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“before you leave - you'll be planning your next...”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Living area and multi fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Living area and multi fuel stove
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Well equipped kitchen
Hallway to bedrooms and shower room
Shower room
Twin room
Double bedroom
Garden & utility shed
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Fiona M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“before you leave - you'll be planning your next visit”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have stayed at An Taigh Clach several times now and it always exceeds our expectations! The property is immaculate and has been furnished and stocked with all the essentials (and then some) to make your stay comfortable and feel like home. The owners are so thoughtful, friendly and welcoming; ensuring you have all you need and providing a freezer stocked with local produce. The cottage is comfy, clean, cosy and an excellent base from which to explore Lewis. The views are breathtaking as you sit on the decking or by the cosy wood burner.
The area offers so many attractions in the form of picturesque walks and beaches, black houses, caraway broch, callanish stones and so much more. Harris is a short drive away as is Stornoway.
I wholeheartedly recommend this property for your next holiday - the only time you will be disappointed is the day you have to go home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arranging to go back!
Liked least: there is nothing to be disappointed in!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Famil...
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent... again!”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our third stay at An Taigh Clach and we enjoyed it just as much as the previous two times - possibly even more, as we now see it as out Isle of Lewis "home from home". Val was as hospitable/generous as ever and brought us large prawns/squat lobster tails half way through our break this time (...a lovely treat!) and took us down to her farm to see the newborn lambs/calf which the kids just loved! I'm certain we will travel back up to the Isle of Lewis many more times in the future and as Carloway is such an ideal (central) location to everything we love doing on the island, I just can't imagine staying anywhere else now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Going on holiday to stay somewhere that feels like home.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D
Dunbar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Attention to detail and experience shows!”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Calloway is a lovely tranquil spot on the West coast near most of the Lewis attractions - its an ideal location is you have not been to Lewis/ Harris before. The number of people who coma back to this property is testament to the professionalism and attention to detail of the owner Val. Its great to go somewhere with decent cutlery and crockery and every possible kitchen requirement from Denby plates to clingfilm there is even home baking and we got some excellent crab too. Val has been doing this fora while and that experience show - she has thought of everything you might need and many thing you didn't even consider. The property itself has a large sitting and dining area with window on 3 sides the pictures don't do justice to the sense of space - it is a very relaxing space to be in if you have a day off doing the tourist stuff as we did. The outdoor space is also great with lots of seating - the views are great and we got some fantastic sunsets over the Atlantic. Although the beaches in Harris are stunning there is a great beach less than 5 mins from the property by car . The property is pet friendly and there are plenty of places in the area to walk and take ninth views .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our 7th visit and it still feels like our first.”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just finished another "out of season" wonderful break. Probably had all four seasons throughout our week and each one was as welcome as the other. If the gales are blowing and the rain belting down, then just throw another bit of peat on the fire and pour another dram. We also had some spectacular days with sunshine, amazing visibility and cloudless, pollution free starlit nights. We were joined by our grandson and his parents for the last two days. Our grandson had been up with us last year and was so excited about returning. We even managed a trip to the beaches with him so February / March can be nice in Lewis also.
Have never been there for New Year yet but this gap will be filled in 2017!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that you are never sure just what weather you are going to get and every type has its beauty.
Liked least: As always, leaving for home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Loved our time at An Taigh Clach, beautifully finished cottage with everything you'd need. (like everything more utensils than I have at home, fuel for the fire, welcome hamper, books and info on the Isle!) perfectly located to explore the best beaches the Isle has to offer. We even got lucky with the weather too. could not recommend it more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msw3569
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“another amazing peaceful and relaxing break in a stunning and beautiful corner of Scotland”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

our 6th visit to An Taigh Clach - if you are wishing for a relaxing, peaceful break with stunning scenery and amazing hospitality, then you should simply look no further and book 'An Taigh Clach'... we will be returning again next summer :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairi J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in so many ways especially in its style and comfort.”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We needed to recharge our batteries and this house provided the perfect situation to do so. Lovely! Geographically, the house is well situated for exploring Lewis and Harris. We enjoyed great 180 degree views taking in sunrises and sunsets as well as the bleak beauty of an October landscape. Read a fantastic piece of poetry (its English translation!) on a wall in the airport as we waited for our flights home:
'Ties not rusted by the elements
And cords mysteriously entwining
Tying me, traveller
To the land of our heroes
And stronger this year than last'.
The Outer Hebrides touch you deeply! We really do recommend a visit and a stay in An Taigh Clach. A warm welcome awaits you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan living area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing