We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, comfort, views, and lovely hosts - it...”
other travelers have booked this property
The property (on the left) from the main road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The property (on the left) from the main road
Taigh Granaidh Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The property (on the left) from the main road
Taigh Granaidh
Lounge
Master Bedroom
Front bedroom
Twin Room
Kitchen / Dinette
Shower Room
Bathroom
House from garden
Front garden coming into its own in early summer
View from lounge
Sunset from croft
View from hills a short walk out the back of the house towards Harris hills
Winter sunset from croft
Callanish Stones (5 minutes by car)
Shingle shore on Loch Roag a short walk from croft
Beach view from Great Bernera
Loch Roag from Breasclete Pier
Dalmore beach in Carloway (10 minutes by car)
Loch Amhister popular for trout fishing (5 minutes by car)
Rear garden
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Breasclete, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DevonCatL...
Deepest Devon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location, comfort, views, and lovely hosts - it had the lot.”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We absolutely loved this place. It was homely and relaxed, well equipped and very comfortable, and perfectly located for getting around the islands. We were warm and snug despite all that the weather could throw at us - and it did throw it all this time, but WOW those dramatic skies! The views were lovely, and we were surrounded by sheep (they were down around the croft to lamb). Immediately next door the old house is now used just as a loom shed, and it was interesting to see what is involved in weaving Harris Tweed. Kenny and Caroline were so friendly and very helpful, and never short of a suggestion for somewhere we might like to visit. I usually find self-catering a bit restricting food-wise because you just don't have all the ingredients to hand, so I was surprised to find sea-salt, fish sauce, balsamic vinegar,oregano, and so on, as well as foil and baking paper, and loads of equipment - it has to be the best equipped rental we have ever found.
If I was forced to nit-pick, the stair lift was a bit awkward when getting cases up and down the stairs, but if we had been more enterprising we would have used it! I loved the idea that it was kitted out for a disabled person because the Outer Hebrides has to be the best possible holiday for a disabled person - all they have to do is sit in the car as all the wonderful views unfold before them.
There were loads of books - novels, guides, kids' books, language courses, games, you name it. We didn't use the TV/Sky/Radio all week. There was sufficient internet to keep in touch.
And best of all it had comfortable beds and lovely pillows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but especially the location
Liked least: I can't actually think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
Thanks for your lovely review, nice to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P
St. Bees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A real home from home: what a comfortable house: memorable in every way!”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The house is very well equipped and comfortable, and beautifully situated on a working croft. We had the chance to see tweed being woven and to learn something about island life. The scenery is fantastic, our granddaughters loved playing with the dogs and seeing brand-new lambs, and we were all impressed by the generosity and kindness of Caroline's and Kenny's welcome. The beach at Dail Mor is stunning among many, and the standing stones at Callanish are sensational. There is something to do for every interest. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts went out of their way to make sure we got the most out of our stay
Liked least: No criticisms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
Thank you, it was lovely meeting you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony H
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very warm welcome to an excellently situated property”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Caroline's welcome pack was very well received, and Kenny was very helpful and most interesting on the weaving in the islands. Mary is herself a hand weaver with a floor loom and so there was a mutual interest. The property is excellently situated to explore the Island of Lewis and is very comfortably set up. We found the Stair lift and walk in bath restrictive, and would have doubts on the toilet/bathroom facilities for six people (perfectly adequate for 2)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation and Warm Welcome
Liked least: Found Stair lift and walk in bath restrictive
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2014
Lovely to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in a beautiful place”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had one of the best family holidays ever here. The house itself was well equipped and had plenty of space for us. There is a good collection of books, CDs and even toys and games for the children. Our hosts were very friendly and we really appreciated the welcome pack especially the pancakes :-) We loved getting to see Harris Tweed being woven and the kids loved playing with the dogs.

The views out the windows are beautiful and the local area is lovely. There is also plenty to see and do within easy reach by car. Callanish is only 5 mins in the car - a couple of lovely beaches around 15 mins away, several historical sights within an hour and Stornoway was around 25mins.

All in all an excellent stay - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
punkynic
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

What a wonderful week we spent at "Granny's House". Such a warm and welcoming house with all the home comforts to make a stay perfect! Kenny and Caroline are so friendly and the welcome pack of essentials (including wine) was sooo nice after a long journey. The house is warm and we could honestly have lived there. Wireless internet meant a happy teenager and the DVD's and games meant we all enjoyed the time we spent in the house. We spent an interesting hour or so with Kenny whilst he demo'd weaving to us. There was absolutely nothing we would change about the accommodation which is just a short 15 minute or so drive from Stornoway.

The Isle of Lewis itself is beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed out stay. Try Dalmore beach it is so close and breathtaking!

A perfect break! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen R
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well and truly our 'Home' for the week”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was the first time we have stayed in this property despite holidaying in Lewis several times previously. I can safely say that it was a real pleasure staying here. It is extremely clean and very comfortable with everything you need. A perfect welcome on arrival of wine, pancakes and jam. The view from the house is amazing and certainly adds to the value of staying here. My children were delighted with the books, toys and DVDs that are provided for rainy days! We also enjoyed climbing the hills at the back of the house as did our spaniel who seemed to be in heaven! Caroline and Kenny are the perfect hosts, not intrusive at all yet always at hand if required. They have great local knowledge of the surrounding area for example good fishing spots etc. It is a great location for exploring around Lewis and Harris. My children did not want to leave which I guess sums this place up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the house
Liked least: Shower space is limited
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2014
Thank you very much Gwen, it was a pleasure to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyScot
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities and great view; helpful and friendly owners”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I highly recommend this house which is very clean, comfortable and homely.
An added bonus is the opportunity to see Kenny weaving Harris Tweed in the old house next door. Caroline also provided a welcome pack including some excellent home made pancakes and jam which we appreciated very much.
The location is excellent - very peaceful, view of the sea and islands, within reach of the whole island for day trips.
The shower is a little narrow for those of a larger frame (in sitting bath which would however benefit disabled guests) . Those with difficulty using stairs could use the stair lift.
We felt quickly very welcome and at home. The owners have thought of everything you might need There is an excellent stock of books, maps and CDs and videos (although we had generally excellent weather so were not in much to make use of these!)
Good wifi connection too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: general comfort, cleanliness and helpfulness of owners
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2014
Lovely to meet you, hope you make it back another time. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing