We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Inventive use of small building to very...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Ellen, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Sue S
1 review
“Inventive use of small building to very comfortably house a large number of people”
Reviewed May 14, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Many local facilities in Port Ellen, and beautiful setting. We were a group of 7 adults. Off street parking easily able to accommodate a large people carrier. Large, well fitted out dining kitchen. Sitting area good for socialising within the cottage, opening onto small patio when the weather is good. Sleeping arrangements comfortable but curious - as was very clearly outlined in the information beforehand. Only one shower meant a rota, but having three toilets was really good. The owner was particularly helpful. He ensured that we had all the information that we needed before arrival, and that all was ready for us when we got there. Many thanks for a very comfortable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, it's not easy trying to accommodate all permutations of guests, some are singles as you were, some are families with small children, some with grown-up children, some are couples, but we do try our best to make everyone comfortable and happy. I'm so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and found all that you needed. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Puffin Cottage. Best wishes, Lyle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y L
Villennes-sur-Seine, France
2 reviews
“Restful and fully equipped”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The island by itself is just gorgious and Puffin cottage was a restful and comfortable home after the whole day outside. By foot you have Spar and Coop open till 10.00 pm.
3 comfortable bedrooms and 2 with WC. Kitchen fully equipped. Bathroom with modern and very clean shower. Wifi, computer, TV with all options. A small terrace to appreciate Port Ellen peaceful ambiance + Very nice neighbours !
Ideal for 2 couples + children, or 6 friends as we were.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
I apologise for taking so long to respond, it's been very busy, however, never too busy to thank you for the lovely description of Puffin Cottage you have written. I have always looked on Puffin as a house that I would like to stay in not just a characterless rental property, some of the furnishings in the house have been in the family for many years. Many thanks must go to Lesley, my housekeeper who keeps the whole place shining and clean. Please do return again to Islay and Puffin. Very best of wishes, Lyle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islay G
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was my idea to come to Islay, but my mother's idea to come to Puffin Cottage. It was the perfect location, size, and comfort. Lyle was so open to communication (though it was my mother in contact most of the time). It was cozy and clean, and let us feel like we had always been in Port Ellen. The resources Lyle offered for sightseeing were also so helpful, and we never would have gone to the Mull of Oa or the Woolen Mill if not for those pamphlets. The place could also potentially house 2 to 8 people, making it great for family stays.
Quick tip: If you're 6'4" like my brother, please do say you can't fit into the loft, so there will be the appropriate linens left out for you. Us three "children" were fine with sharing a room but the loft entrance is just a little cramped for taller visitors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Garden and Kitchen
Liked least: Everything was lovely.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Hi there, thanks for the lovely comments in your review and I note also about the "burrow". We do try to accommodate guests requirements as much as we can and do mention the restricted height access to the "burrow" which is ideal for children. If you had let me know in advance that your brother had been assigned that room I could have asked Lesley your housekeeper to leave out the bedding/linen for the double futon downstairs. Even if you could have emailed me after your arrival I could still have arranged that. Something for the future if you would like to come back again? Am so pleased you enjoyed our beautiful island and found things and places to visit other than distilleries! Thank you again for choosing to stay at Puffin Cottage and hopefully we may someday see you again?
Best wishes,
Lyle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie H
2 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great Location. Well outfitted. Worked well for us except that it was odd having to climb through a small door in one upstairs bedroom to get to the third bedroom.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. I noted that you mentioned the "Puffling Burrow" this room is ideal for families and the children love it! We do say on the website that there is restricted height access and that it's is reached off the middle bedroom. Perfect for children and "young at heart" adults. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay on our beautiful isle of Islay and if you ever return you will always be sure to receive a warm welcome at Puffin Cottage. Best wishes, Lyle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talorcan
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Islay and the Cottage is the perfect place from which to explore the whole Island. Our host was wonderful and communication was fantastic and timely. Highly recommended. We will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect No issues
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
I am so pleased that after so long us both talking about your visit and the distance that you had to travel to get to us that your holiday at Puffin Cottage was such a success. I would love it if you were all to return again to Islay. Perhaps even sans enfants. It was a pleasure to have shared your emails and experienced the excitement you had at coming to Islay. Just let me know anytime you would like to return, there will be a warm welcome waiting for you. Lyle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalG8
2 reviews
“Fabulous cottage, great location”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fabulous cottage, very comfortable and immaculate throughout. Port Ellen is a lovely place to stay and the cottage is perfectly located within walking distance of all the amenities.
The owner was so helpful from beginning to end to ensure our stay was a success.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and I am so pleased that your stay was so enjoyable despite the weather! If you come back again to Islay do come and stay with us again and we'll do our best to make your time with us memorable, for all the right reasons. Thank you again,
Lyle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattias P
Osby, Sweden
1 review
“Great place and fine cottage!”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Nice cottage just in the middle of Port Ellen. Easy access and great stay! We were a group of whisky lovers that enjoyed every day on Islay. Good weather was a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
You were great guests, please do come again for more whisky loving, May usually is the best weather but can't be guaranteed sadly. Thanks so much for your terrific review too. Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Lyle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing