We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“3 days stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Ellen, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Matthias...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 days stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great Cottage, very clean, calm Location, everything you Need (and dont really Need) to enjoy your stay at Islay! Very responsive owner who supports very kindly upfront and during the stay. Will certainly come back!!

Matthias Bahr

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Thank for your great review and it was a real pleasure chatting online about you upcoming stay and I'm so glad you found everything you needed (and didn't need!) during your holiday. Hopefully you will come back again soon and be able to stay longer next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Very clean
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
I am so pleased we were able to make your stay a truly enjoyable experience, thank you so much for your lovely review and you will be made very welcome if you ever return to us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 15, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am so pleased that your stay in Islay was made more enjoyable with us. We are a team and we are very happy when our efforts on your behalf are appreciated by our guests. Please come back again to Islay and a very warm welcome at Puffin Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bogman52
bogman
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Cottage in Islay.”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my father and brother on a recent Distilleries trip. Great cottage. Nice and modern interior, well heated with everything you need. And spotlessly clean. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you and we hope that you'll come back and stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay in a great location”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at Puffin Cottage with friends for a long weekend. Cottage was clean and welcoming. We all felt it was good value for money. Great location in Port Ellen. Handy for the pubs/restaurants. Two minutes from the port and beach. Great communication from the owner who was very friendly and willing to help with any questions. We were all very pleased with our choice of accommodation and would thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review, this is our first season and we hope our guests will continue to come back to us, constructive comments are always welcome as we strive to be even better. Please do come back again, you'll always be assured of a warm welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SineadW91
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant getaway”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the cottage for a group holiday, visiting Islay for a wedding. Convenient location in a beautiful village on a stunning island. 2 minutes from bars and shops. We were able to book per person per night which was perfect for our needs, a bonus compared to other self catering options. Comfortable, clean and plenty room for a large group. Flexible and easy booking experience. Excellent communication from Lyle. Would definitely recommend for a holiday away with family or friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review! As this is our first letting year, you are our first review! What a wonderful start! Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrika Sv...
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Tusen tack Ulrika
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing