We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice room, excellent breakfast - but overall, not cheap”
Review of 40 Pier Road

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
40 Pier Road
Ranked #6 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very nice room, excellent breakfast - but overall, not cheap”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Overall an excellent experience on Islay, and we felt very much at ease in our large room with a cosy seating area which was seperated from the sleeping room.
Two remarks however :
1/ The beds are on the soft side - for those of you who like their mattress hard, this is not the place to go
2/ If - like us - you're two, it doesn't make a difference in price if you're both in a seperate room or both in the same room. In other words, for 2 people in the same room you'll pay 90 GBP / night, so if you're not related to the person with whom you're travelling, you might just as well take two rooms for exactly the same price - there is no reduction for the second person in the same room.
Otherwise a very pleasant experience and a very warm welcome by the owners. And indeed excellent breakfast which will carry you through the day untill at least 3 PM.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This was our third visit to Islay but first time staying with Eleanor and JIm. The accommodation is outstanding and the food exceptional. We really appreciated all the local advice they were able to give us as it added to our enjoyment of the island. The breakfasts were the best we have had and enjoyed the black pudding, tattie scones and the clootie dumpling. It was a real bonus to have a kitchen to use for our evening snack meal which was all we needed after such an excellent breakfast. We stayed in the Finlaggan suite and it was so well equiped and comfortable. Every thing was superb and showed great care and thought. We stayed for six nights and appreciated the generosity of a reduced rate for a longer stay.Thanks so much, Eleanor and Jim. When we return to Islay we will hope to stay with you again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Finlaggan suite but the other suite i am sure will be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faniona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I’ve stayed in many B&Bs across Europe and this is the best experience I’ve ever had. Eleanor and Jim were wonderful and provided helpful travel tips for our stay on the island.

We stayed in the Texa suite and it was very impressive. It is very spacious and nicely decorated and furnished. The bathroom is modern including a towel warmer. The electric fireplace provided some extra warmth.

Eleanor was very accommodating for breakfast and went out of her way to make sure we were happy. The breakfast room was right outside our suite and quite lovely. The food was very good, including fresh fruit and homemade bread, and there was an extensive variety. I appreciated being able to use the refrigerator in the breakfast room to keep my bottled water chilled.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya6073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

£45pppn seemed expensive for a guest house, but now I see why it's £45. It was lovely! We had a brilliant big room, beautifully furnished, quaint quirky touches all over! Fireplace with living flame effect electric fire which made it very cosy. Nice dressing area and beautiful modern bathroom. Plenty of hot water and clean towels. Nice tea/coffee facilities with lots of choice and accces to fresh milk! Surprisingly, you have access to a full kitchen which is on the landing outside the room. We were able to have a latenight quick meal in the guesthouse and bring wine back to enjoy chilled later on! A very unusual and great feature for a guesthouse, particularly when there aren't a lot of restaurants around and not all of the open at convenient times.

Location itself - right on the pier next to ferry port which is of course closed at the moment for refurbishment. Nice spot for exploring the southern part of Islay but we actually explored the entire island from there. It took us about 40 minutes to drive to the north end. A very pretty spot, bit windy but naturally to be expected, distillery tour was interesting.

I would defiintely return to this guesthouse and have no qualms about paying £45 for it! Well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrToots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I spent my whole trip in the UK waiting until we finally got a room with a bathtub, most had just a shower. Finally found it at 40 Pier Road, and the bathroom was worth the wait, beautiful, clean, large and modern. Have to let the host know when you are getting a bath though so she can turn on the hot water. The room was fantastic overall. Very clean, nice linens, coffee/tea/biscuits, nice fireplace. I didn't see much more of the house than the room and breakfast room, not sure if there are any common areas. Breakfast was very tasty.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donnamc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The room was absolutely wonderful. The breakfast was lovely. The location could not have been better. Wireless internet was available. The room was spacious and had a sitting area with a desk. The hospitality and service was wonderful. We loved staying at 40 Pier Road. The best thing about it? Well, everything. What did I like the least? Leaving. This would be an excellent place for a writing retreat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catscam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I can only echo the previous reviews in saying this is a lovely B&B with superb breakfast and helpfully local knowledge from Eleanor and Jim. We very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celestine_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
11.1 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
10.7 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#4 of 17 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.5 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Pier Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Pier Road

Property: 40 Pier Road
Address: Pier Road 40 Frederick Crescent, Port Ellen PA42 7DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 40 Pier Road 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
40 Pier Road Port Ellen, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing