We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Ellen
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We called into the White Hart for a relaxing pre dinner drink. The door to the bar was locked so had to use another entrance, we were approached by a guy you wanted to know what we wanted, I asked was the bar open (I had read that the White hart had a good selection of whiskeys).
We were taken through to the bar area and my goodness what a dump! First complaint, no local beers on (can understand this as locals do not drink ale), secondly NO Islay whiskeys, thirdly a broken and smashed up pool table, fourthly, decor from the 70's.
Finished half of the poor beer and left. We walked past this pub a few times over the week and it never looked busy. If this place had a whisky bar we were not taken to it, but instead treated like scumbags and shown the common bar!

Has to be the worst place I’ve ever been to!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CR7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    17
    23
    23
See reviews for
6
24
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start so many things awful about this run down poorly staffed and managed place.
A restaurant with no menu no published openimg times and no staff to ask . Decor of the early 1970s dump school of design . Public bar with only 1 draft beer but as no other customers not suprising . Avoid !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevos747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Ellen hotels

La Louviere, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spend a wonderfull evening at the white hart restaurant wich is the headquarter of all scottish gymnasts. The staff was very healthy and sporty and the meal was awesome! Dynamic service, beautifull dishes and tasty wine, soup and gin&tonic. The furniture is modern, design and full of colours and wonderfull objects of decoration : swords nailed on the wall, fake plants, empty whisky bottles, a splendid vacuum cleaner parking space, fully decorated restrooms and a funky dancefloor! If you want to spend a unforgettable night and if youn are a gymnast-fan, so it's the place to be in Islay!

Room Tip: please use room 11, it's the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Well that is how not to do it! We only went in for a drink and were the only ones in the place and still had to wait 5 mins after ringing the bell to get served! Loud music plying in the foyer was a bad start and went down hill from there.

Bar was tatty and windows broken on the front door, the place is not loved at all.

It's a big hotel and huge bars, could be great .. Unfortunately it isn't at present.

Will not return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henryangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishoej
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First they offert us a room with rack beds and a window whoch could't be openend. We got it changed till a twin room - much better. But still without bath and toilet in the room. At the corridor it smelled like wet dog. The good side s were friendly staff, good meals and a good bar. Unfortunately the smokers stood right under our window and drunk smokers are very noisy!

Room Tip: You can choose a room with veuw - it's good but can be noisy or you can choose a room with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury,United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We didn't stay here, but called in for an evening meal. The fish and chips we would highly recommend.Really fresh fish,not over-battered.Really really good.And sensible prices.
However, watch out how you buy your wine. The wine list prices have been produced by someone who seriously failed his/her O level maths.Three 250 ml glasses were £5 cheaper than a 75 cl bottle.
Crazy pricing, so do watch out. You would normally expect buying a bottle to be slightly cheaper than buying the equivalent amount by the glass. Hey ho, this is Islay !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0ssHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Cigarette butts, food, glass out front. Bedroom windows would not open; used bathroom window for cooling, but cigarette smoke entered thru open window. Phone did not work. Bathroom door did not close/latch. Mattress was poor; friends staying in another room had similar issue with their mattress. Broken tables downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
10.9 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
36 reviews
10.6 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
284 reviews
9.5 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#11 of 13 in Bowmore
85 reviews
12.7 mi away
Burnside Lodge
Burnside Lodge
#1 of 1 in Portnahaven
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 1 Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA42 7DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Ellen
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of the village of Port Ellen, our quaint 19 bedroom hotel offers comfortable accommodation complemented by an excellent seasonal menu, and of course a wonderful selection of the Islay malts for which our little island is renowned. Within a stones throw of Port Ellen ferry terminal, a short drive from the island's airport and with easy access to the local bus service, getting to and from the hotel couldn't be easier. A warm highland welcome guaranteed, we look forward to making your stay on the Isle of Malts, an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Port Ellen, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing