We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Scenery - great value”
Review of Kintra Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kintra Farm
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Scenery - great value”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a place! As I was arriving later my girlfriend had to set up camp. Our host was very helpful and allowed us to register the next day after showing Christine the rules etc.
Perfect spot right on the beach with a good breeze to keep the midge at bay.
Access to the shower/toilets is 24hrs as is the hot water, a kettle, laundry and a couple of fridges makes up the remainder of the amenities - basic but all you need.
Had a blether with both the Owner and his wife, perfectly pleasant and chatty - don't know what the issue is with some of the other reviews - maybe they found them on a bad day?
A gem of a campsite with stunning views - perfect!

Room Tip: Chose your tent pitch wisely - you want the breeze on your face to keep the midge at bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMcL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is great location. The site is quite small and there are rules, many rules, but we had not problems. Site was clean and tidy and well maintained. No electric hook ups - but you are here to get away from it all, and you can!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank THT1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

There is a bit of an overload of signs and notices when you arrive and a rather bizarre map with scribbled names / vehicles / arrival / leave info scribbled thereon. You better park where you say you will or else! However, the location cannot be beaten. I don't think there are any facilities, but we were self contained including water in our camper. We perched on a hill in the sand dunes looking up a 7 mile beach, it was windy, but so was all of Scotland that weekend. The views are stunning, the sunset on the two evenings we were there were as good as any I've seen. The water on the site is drawn from a peat loch, so it's a bit peaty! They say don't drink the water without boiling it, we were pre-warned and prepared. If you forget anything, you've had it because there's nothing near. However, that's all we wanted and it was excellent. Will deffo go back, it's ideally placed for the Calmac ferry from Port Ellen a few miles round the corner. Showers and toilets basic, but clean and worked OK. It could have money spent on it, but as it works and it's clean, why bother until it fails?

Room Tip: Don't argue with the management!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FellrunnerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We rented Traigh cottage for a week in May. It is right on the beach...miles of sand and amazing sunsets. The cottage is nice....lovely sitting room with comfy seating, a stove for colder days, compact but well equipped kitchen with breakfast bar and small dining area with patio doors. The bedrooms could do with redecorating and showers do need attention. One room is en suite with shower over bath.....very poor. Other bathroom is having new shower fitted I believe. There is also a separate toilet and basin. Washing machine and drier, dish washer, fridge freezer in the cottage. Enclosed garden with table and seats.
The cottage is on a working farm. There are three other self catering properties but Traigh is my choice. It is in such a lovely setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jalogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the campsite. Exceptional location. Facilities clean. Advisory notices written so that you take notice! Great local walks and spectacular scenery. Plenty of wildlife and sheep for neighbours.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank munrotop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The location is fantastic for an away-from-it-all!
Advertised all en-suite....not so, we had a room with separate bathroom.
mattress extremely soft, we were going to stay 3 nights but after having to
sleep on the floor the 1st night we declined to stay longer.
breakfast poor quality and not your typical Scottish fare, not much choice and very little.
Not made to feel welcome at all.
Made to feel bad after asking for key to our room so we could lock it when we went out.
Seemed everywhere you looked there were do's & don't rules
Otherwise a quaint house, full to the brim with books for all ages and interests. Lots of family photos and nick knacks which should have made you feel at home but......
If the owner could have been more pleasant and welcoming it would have made all the difference (except for the bed!!!).

Room Tip: I wouldn't go there for B&B and after reading the previous reviews I wouldn't camp there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was planning to stay at the campsite so I sent off an email enquiry for their prices and to find out whether I can book. I received a blank email with a 4 page word document attached, that barely answered any of my questions. On following up with an email trying to confirm the price, no further response was received. If the customer service is like that before even going there, I am not very inclined to see what it's like in person. Think I'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tiizzwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
9.0 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
36 reviews
7.5 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
260 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
129 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
87 reviews
7.5 mi away
Port Charlotte Youth Hostel
Port Charlotte Youth Hostel
#2 of 4 in Port Charlotte
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintra Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintra Farm

Property: Kintra Farm
Address: Kintra Farm Kintra Bay, Port Ellen PA42 7AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Port Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kintra Farm Port Ellen, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing