We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm host and home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm host and home”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Lynn has set the bar for all B&B experiences. Lynn herself was warm, bubbly, and right on target. She made my boyfriend and I feel like family in her home and took care of us - even when we almost had no way of transporting our precious whiskey home! Her home was cozy and perfectly laid out, quiet even though other guests were across the hall. Location was central. The breakfasts were truly amazing - the best we had in all of Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent a week at this lovely B&B over Easter, and felt so well looked after and relaxed. The cosy, clean rooms are well equipped with comfy beds, lovely linen, very well stocked tea and coffee making facilities and pretty view. There was also a hairdryer and bottle opener. Lynn was a wonderful hostess, and those breakfasts set us up for the day!

Lynn was happy for us to use the dining room in the evenings if we wanted, and there were also drinks and snacks available too at any time.

The location is great - bang next to the ferry, and easy walking distance to the pub/eateries. We walked to the Ardbeg distillery from the front door. There is also a Co-op very close by for any supplies that you need.

Thank you Lynn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent a week with Lynn at The Oystercatcher two years ago and were happy that she was able to book us for our second stay. Lynn is delightful and made us feel like part of her family while giving us all the privacy we wanted. My husband, adult son and I booked both rooms so the second floor was all ours. Lynn's breakfasts are absolutely wonderful! The beds are comfortable and everything is extremely clean. We would love the opportunity to return to The Oystercatcher.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a very enjoyable week-end, the food and accommodation were excellent and Lynn was very helpful and friendly. It is ideally located for distilleries, American monument and Kildalton Cross.
Ann & John.
.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lovely home, lovely rooms, lovely food and lovely hostess. Lynn spoilt us and we were so happy here. All in all excellent and we do hope to return to this beautiful village. Lynn was very helpful in answer to our questions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Oystercatcher. What a great B&B and Lynn was a delightful host. The Room was quite large very clean and tidy, sea views and the decor really made me feel like i was in a fishing village. Lynne's breakfasts are the biggest I have ever had, who needs lunch. Will recommend to anyone and will have no hesitation in booking again when we return to the Island.
PS if staying ask Lynne to organize her seafood dinner - it was huge and very fresh and the best seafood we had in all Britain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deano29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easilypleased
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My Fiancé and I stayed here as we were attending a friends wedding nearby. This was by far the best B&B I have ever been in. The room was beautiful and so so clean with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious and all freshly cooked. The owner Lynn was more than accommodating going well beyond her duties and so friendly. All in all, a top place to stay and thanks Lynn for making our stay in Islay one to remember! Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easilypleased80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
11.1 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#1 of 13 in Bowmore
312 reviews
8.7 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
9.7 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#11 of 13 in Bowmore
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast

Property: Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast
Address: 63 Frederick Crescent, Port Ellen PA42 7BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast Port Ellen, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing