We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Port Ellen
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
White Hart Hotel(Port Ellen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Charlotte Hotel(Port Charlotte)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgend Hotel(Bridgend)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islay House(Bridgend)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Askaig Hotel(Port Askaig)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Jura Hotel(Isle of Jura)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saddell House(Saddell)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
The Argyll Arms(Campbeltown)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
58
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
8
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 66 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed for 4 days in late august for our whisky tour. Lovely place in an excellent location overlooking the harbour. We were staying in the smallest room but it was cost and has everything inside. Very nicely decorated and you can appreciate how much effort Lynn has put on the house. On one night we ordered a seafood hamper take away and Lynn was so kind as to let us use the breakfast room to have our dinner. She set the table nicely. We bought a bottle of wine and had a dinner on that night and we really could not thank her more for this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FC207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We ( a group of 3 male adults) stayed here in august 2011. What a fantastic welcome we had. The owners of the guest house, made us feel extremley welcome and " at home ". The breakfast they cooked was top quality. We stayed in a flat, that was a few doors away which was fully equipt with everything that we needed. Set in a beautiful location, on a great island, where everyone is so friendly and welcoming. This is a perfect location for anyone who wishes to have a relaxing time away. We will certainly be returning again soon.

Room Tip: A visit is a must.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelHunter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The best thing about this place?? Breakfast!!! We traveled throughout Scotland for our honeymoon and stayed here about half way through our vacation. By the time we got here, we were a little tired of the typical scottish fry breakfast. But Lynn offered a great smoked salmon and lox and my husband had the smoked haddock. Not to mention some homemade jams with Laphroaig whiskey. Yum!

The rooms were cozy and nice. It's more homey, with a book shelf and novelty decorations. It's right smack in the middle of Port Ellen, near the Co-op and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjhammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Visited for two days and stayed at the Oystercatcher.
Not going to repeat what others have said other than agree one hundred percent.
What a gem of a B&B and Lynn was a delightful host.
Will recommend to anyone and will have no hesitation in booking again if we return to
the Island.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archibaldbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This must be the friendliest B and B on the friendliest Island
Lynn couldn't of been more welcoming and her breakfasts are superb
Couple this with lovely rooms a great location friendly bars and restaurants and a brilliant Island we didn't want to go home !

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John-the-admiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews