We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Port Ellen
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
White Hart Hotel(Port Ellen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Charlotte Hotel(Port Charlotte)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgend Hotel(Bridgend)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islay House(Bridgend)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Askaig Hotel(Port Askaig)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Jura Hotel(Isle of Jura)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saddell House(Saddell)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
The Argyll Arms(Campbeltown)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
58
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
8
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 66 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The best thing about this place?? Breakfast!!! We traveled throughout Scotland for our honeymoon and stayed here about half way through our vacation. By the time we got here, we were a little tired of the typical scottish fry breakfast. But Lynn offered a great smoked salmon and lox and my husband had the smoked haddock. Not to mention some homemade jams with Laphroaig whiskey. Yum!

The rooms were cozy and nice. It's more homey, with a book shelf and novelty decorations. It's right smack in the middle of Port Ellen, near the Co-op and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjhammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Visited for two days and stayed at the Oystercatcher.
Not going to repeat what others have said other than agree one hundred percent.
What a gem of a B&B and Lynn was a delightful host.
Will recommend to anyone and will have no hesitation in booking again if we return to
the Island.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archibaldbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This must be the friendliest B and B on the friendliest Island
Lynn couldn't of been more welcoming and her breakfasts are superb
Couple this with lovely rooms a great location friendly bars and restaurants and a brilliant Island we didn't want to go home !

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John-the-admiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The B&B accommodations were full for the dates we planned to be at Islay so we had booked the Self-catering Ardview Flat which is just 50 mts up the road from Oystercatcher B&B. Next to the Port Ellen Post Office. This split level flat is sort of an annexe to the B&B. Usually doesn't come with breakfast included in the rates but with a bit of extra payment we had Lynn's famous breakfast at the B&B.

The best part of this B&B is the proprietress... Lynn Ross. An amazing woman...gracious, caring, always ready to go the extra mile to help you out and she manages probably the best B&B you can get at Islay.

We reached Islay on a wet windy late afternoon by the Flybe flight from Glasgow, shaken up by the extremely turbulent weather enroute....a roller coaster ride! Lynn had very graciously offered to pick us up from the tiny Islay airport. Within 30 mins of landing we were at our self-catering.

Compact but fully equipped kitchen at the ground level. Carpeted wooden stairs lead up to a living area (complete with a stocked book shelf, desk, TV, sofa etc), a very large toilette and a bed room with two large singles pushed together to make a superking sort of bed. Tastefully furnished. View of the Port Ellen bay from the upper floor. All rooms fitted with electric radiators and ample supply of hot water.

We were there for 2 days and the breakfasts Lynn served at the main B&B had to be the second highlight of our trip after the Laphroaig and Bowmore visits. Perhaps the best breakfasts we had in our 2 weeks in England and Scotland. What really added to the experience is the warmth and caring with which breakfast was served.

See the pics of the accommodation and the breakfast...they convey more than what I can ever write.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArupGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Lovely place, great service, fabulous breakfasts (you won't go starving here, and it's very good quality too -- this is not a cheap "big is better" type breakfast!).

Very easy going, and very accommodating to provide a cot bed for our 1 year old baby.

Port Ellen is short of eating places, but well located for some of the "better" whiskey distilleries.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbrown17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews