We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic Moments”
Review of The Lodge Islay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge Islay
Ranked #1 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Magic Moments”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a wonderful time in great accomodation in a magical location . The owner went out of his way to be helpful and nothing was too much trouble . Helpful advice about places to go and things to do and on every occasion he took those extra steps that helped to turn our break into something memorable. High spec and very comfortable . The bonus was the views of the bay and the very convenient eating places .
Thanks for a great holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
64
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful 3 days we spent in Islay and a delightful stay at the Lodge. The host Don really does go the extra mile and that's what made our stay unforgettable. The Room was like brand new and we couldn't fault it. Thanks Don and we will be back next year.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was my first trip to Islay and after much research, settled on The Lodge. Don is a fantastic host and tailored the breakfast plate to my preferences. He was available to arrange special transportation and helped me find whatever I needed on the island. The room and shared kitchen are modern and comfortable, and fully equipped with all you need - including a sea view in the Lagavulin/Laphroaig rooms.

I walked to both Laphroaig and Lagavulin distilleries from this location, and Ardbeg is not much further. There is bus service to the rest of the island from here as well. The Ardview Inn is just a 2-minute walk down the street which is full of characters for a fun happy hour evening.

I was traveling alone but it never felt like it; I made fast friends with other Lodge residents and Don even gave me a lift when needed. He's a very warm, generous and friendly host! I hope to return someday in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor, and Lagavulin and Laphroaig are the only ones with a sea view. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I were on Islay for 2 nights and chose the Lodge based on the reviews here. I must say that this was our best guest-house/B&B experience to date. Everything about the place was clean, new, and high quality. Don was a tremendous host and treated us like old friends. This will be our first choice for the next time we visit Islay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My 4 friends and me have just come back to Sweden after a week in Scotland. We booked the three rooms at The Lodge early last autumn, before any reviews was published at TripAdvisor.
First impression couldn’t have been better, a warm welcome from the owner Don, beautiful and fresh rooms and the sea just outside the door. We stayed for three pleasant nights and are really happy with our choice of accommodation. We agree with the others that have submitted ratings, this is a 5 star B&B! Port Ellen is a perfect place to stay in when visiting Islay and The Lodge is probably the best accommodation.
We visited all 8 single malt distilleries on Islay so here comes another recommendation. Don’t miss to book a tour at the Heaven on Earth, the Ardbeg distillery. If the weather is good, skip the other distilleries and take a trip to the American Monument at Mull of Oa, fantastic views over Northern Ireland and Mull of Kintyre.
If you are going to Islay, we would absolutely recommend The Lodge in Port Ellen for a pleasant stay. Thanks Don, if there is some whisky left on Islay we will probably come back some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We travelled to Islay for a family wedding with two elderly ladies.Don was a perfect host and could not have been more helpful,nothing was too much trouble. The welcome was warm and friendly and the accommodation was exceptional. Definitely worth a visit for peace tranquility and a relaxing break or romantic retreat. Local hostelries are within walking distance serving island whiskey, local ales and a variety of food.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of excellent quality, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My trip to Islay and the lodge was exceptional with friends top of by a great host Don.
The lodge and Islay has something for everyone world class whisky fine dining spectacular views top of by quality accommodation.
The host and locals are very friendly and welcoming with great knowledge of local attractions.
Our mornings started with great breakfast walks around superb coast line.
Afternoons visits to one or two of the many world class distillery top off by a spot of photography of the local dear / wildlife.
Evenings short drive local reasutrount with fine dining and exceptional vines with a short walk to a locals at rustic pub only a stones throw from the lodge.
I would have no issues with recommending the lodge on Islay to my family and friends for a quality stay in the high quility accomidation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
11.1 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
10.8 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.6 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Islay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Islay

Property: The Lodge Islay
Address: 83 Frederick Cresent, Port Ellen PA42 7BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is a newly renovated fishing cottage and sits at the centre of the bay crescent overlooking the sea and harbour. It has been finished to a high standard and specification and is within walking distance of three whisky distilleries, Laphroaig, Lagavulin and Ardbeg. 07776 193140 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge Islay Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing