We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms and great Islay malts”
Review of The Islay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Islay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms and great Islay malts”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel is situated very conveniently located to the southern Islay distilleries. The restaurant is quite nice and breakfast was very good. The bar has a fabulous collection of Islay malts. Definitely a great place to stay if you love Islay malts.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pilotskier_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review, we are pleased you found your room to be clean & comfortable and got to enjoy our great range of Islay Malts. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    118
    39
    19
    11
See reviews for
62
169
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were on a Living Social deal as many of the previous reviewers, thankfully we did not pay full price because lots of small issues ended up making this hotel appear like Fawlty Towers.

No chocolates in the room for the deal to start with but that wasn't a big deal.

The room itself was nice and spacious, however, it was cold and the bathroom was freezing. We did highlight this to reception who advised it would be looked at and when we spoke with the manager the next day he told us the filament in the towel rail had previously been removed for health and safety. He then stated but it would be fixed in the future. We were not offered another room and the fact it would be fixed in the future was not exactly any use to us.

We stayed in room 5 which is located right above the kitchen and boy did we know that. This hotel has a major problem with soundproofing...it doesn't have any. Noise from the kitchen and music playing meant there was no opportunity for relaxing at all. Couple this with the doors at reception slamming every 2 seconds, you can begin to imagine how we were feeling.

The lift was out of order from Saturday night and was not fixed by the time we left on Monday, real issue if you had disabilities.

The staff are pleasant however they are woefully undertrained and under supervised plus there are not enough of them. The food in the hotel is ok but pricey, though in line with island prices. The starters are very small and the scallops my wife had were queenies and not full scallops and the half piece of black pudding was cooked to the point of cremation.
The following nights dinner was full of issues, we were taken 40 minutes late. We were told they had ran out of veg and the tuna was over cooked. It was replaced and to be fair we were not charged for the tuna, however, this felt as though it was more out of embarrassment due to the amount of issues eg no glasses, asking for cutlery, butter, reminding for drinks order etc, etc.

The real issue with this hotel is the clientele. It seems to wish to keep the clientele from its past pre refurbishment along with the new guests it wishes to entertain. This is not a great mix. The bar has a sign that is states we only serve drinks not drunks....well tell that to the customers on Friday night and the rugby club on Saturday night who should have been sent home at least 5 rounds earlier. I have to admit it was amusing at first but got wearing after a while and the noise of the bar disturbed what should have been an enjoyable meal. To top it off my wife was not really amused at the sight of men in their 30's running about in their underwear for dares. When we raised an eyebrow we got told, well that's the rugby club for you!

Believe it or not there is more but I think that is enough to be going on with. It's a shame because it could be a lovely hotel but far too many snagging issues for me and the refurb is over 2 years old now, so these issues with the clientele should be well ironed out by now.

Islay itself was loving with very friendly people.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marley105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Many thanks for your review although we are disappointed to read it. We apologise if things did not go as smoothly as you might expect during your stay. As the manger of the hotel you will remember that we did speak during your stay, in particular about the towel rail which is due to be replaced, we can only apologise that it was not done in time for your stay. The broken lift was merely unfortunate, as you know it broke down on a Saturday evening and we are on Island, it needs to be fixed professionally and it takes time for service engineers to travel here however we apologies if this caused you any inconvenience. On a final note I would like to apologise if any rowdiness in the bar detracted from your evening, we welcome tourists and the local community alike however irresponsible behavior is not welcome regardless of who it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a very enjoyable five night stay at the Islay Hotel. The hotel was clean, the staff pleasant and the food excellent on the whole. Our room was large and comfortable, with bed side lights that you could actually read by. No heating in the bathroom meant washing was done as quickly as possible and a proper shower screen would have been preferable to the curtain. The hotel is conveniently situated 2 minutes walk from the ferry. We were unlucky with the weather - the usual wind was particularly cold and we didn't see much sun, but still had a very relaxing holiday which is what we needed.

Room Tip: Ask about heating in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boothroydjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, you food and that you found your room to be clean. In time for next winter we are looking to make more suitable arrangements for bathroom heating. We hope to welcome you back to see the results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Great visit. Lovely clean hotel, friendly helpful staff. Food fabulous. Was an issue with our room which staff quickly sorted for us, so no complaints at all. Our visit included afternoon tea which was scrumptious.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cornflower1970s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to read that any issues with your room were quickly sorted and that you got to enjoy all aspects of the hotel & the island. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Islay is a popular destination for whisky enthusiasts, and outdoors people. But you will need a comfortable place to lay your head at night and eat well too. Well, this hotel is it!! A great location, with stylish rooms, excellent food both in the evening and at breakfast and helpful, friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review. We share your views about exploring Islay for whisky & nature and are pleased to read you found comfortable surroundings upon your return . We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a lovely hotel that has been beautifully refurbished and was clean, comfortable and modern. It was much more than I had expected and we really enjoyed our stay. The dual-aspect views from 14 are lovely, and the room had plenty of storage and a wonderful jacuzzi tub. The restaurant was very good, with very good seafood, and the staff were wonderful. There's live music on Friday nights, which was a nice surprise. Great location for visiting all the distilleries. My husband has stayed in a few other hotels on the island and said this was by far the best. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved 14 as it had windows at both ends, so had a beautiful view. It was also very quiet, even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in room 14 which is a platinum room. It is nice to read that you got to enjoy all aspects of the hotel such as our restaurant and live music. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have just returned from Isle of Islay from a two night stay at The Islay Hotel. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. We quickly found out we had a complimentary upgrade to a Platinum room (no 8) with a sea view and a spacious bathroom with a massive bath. And this is what you need after a long journey! Breakfast is delicious (continental and various options of full Scottish). Afternoon tea - we received a full tray of home made sandwiches plus some cakes. Dinner menu is varied to match different tastes. The island is beautiful with wild nature and sandy beaches. Local people are very friendly. All in all our wee break was above our expectations!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnenorvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in room 8 - a platinum room, we will always upgrade if we have a platinum room available, your visit fell just before the start of the busy summer season so we had the opportunity to do it. It is pleasing to read that you got to enjoy all aspects of the hotel & the island. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
11.1 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
36 reviews
10.7 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
260 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
282 reviews
12.8 mi away
Burnside Lodge
Burnside Lodge
#1 of 1 in Portnahaven
40 reviews
9.6 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#11 of 13 in Bowmore
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islay Hotel

Property: The Islay Hotel
Address: 18 Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA42 7DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently rebuilt on the site of the old Islay Hotel, offering 13 excellent bedrooms. From standard rooms with walk-in showers to extra large rooms with Jacuzzi bath and separate shower we can accommodate all requirements. Fantastic restaurant with a great selection of Island landed seafood dishes along side our Game supplied by local estates and Argyll Beef and Lamb. Our bar has one of the best collections of Islay whisky on the Island. The hotel is open all year around and are ideally situated next to Port Ellen Harbour and Ferry terminal. We are the nearest hotel to Laphroig, Lagavulin and Argbeg distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Islay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islay Hotel Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing