We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Kiln Cafe

The Old Kiln Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lived up to the hype”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Before visiting, we had read glowing reviews of the Old Kiln Cafe--and based on our lunch experience, the reviews are justified.

Both the crab ciabatta (on a hotdog-shape ciabatta bun--a new twist in my experience--and loaded with big chunks of crab in a light aioli) and the kofta burger were excellent. Fresh ingredients, generous portions, very tasty preparation and presentation. Nothing fancy, mind you; just a satisfying, well-prepared meal.

The cafe seating adjacent to the shop was packed (and noisy), so we ended up in the larger area across the entryway. It was much quieter and we got friendly and attentive service.

We also felt that the price was very reasonable, especially considering the general cost of dining out on Islay and the dearth of other dining options in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    87
    22
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
143 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Lunch or Tea on Islay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you are touring the trio of distilleries near Port Ellen (Lephroig, Lagavulin, Ardbeg), as well as the nearby sites such as the Kildalton Cross, this is an excellent spot to stop for lunch. In fact, it is well worth a special visit. The menu changes daily and features local fish, shellfish, homemade soups and baked goods. All choices are somewhat lighter than much local fare, and are often characteristic of the new Scottish cuisine - local and fresh. You can also do mini whisky tastings, or simply enjoy a glass of your favourite malt from the Ardbeg distillery. It is a good spot for a quick brunch, as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargotRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Friendly, helpful service. Fresh, food made with good local produce. Marvellous soup. All at a reasonable price, though not the cheapest. You get what you pay for, I guess.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank seanog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

At busy times you may have to wait for a table but friendly staff will ensure this isn't for long.
Lots to choose from with a good selection of sandwiches, wraps, paninis and more. My Islay crab ciabatta was well filled and came with attractive side salad. Partner had bacon, Brie and red onion marmalade toastie. Shared a piece of dark chocolate and tablet cheesecake; best desert we've had on Islay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhiskyGalore63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best food on Islay”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We came for lunch one day and were very impressed. The service was not over friendly, but very efficient. The food was superb, and the best we had in 2 weeks on Islay. We had hoped to have a second lunch here after a tour of the distillery, but it appeared they had been invaded by the US of A and there was a very long wait for a table. We sadly left and went for lunch in Bowmore instead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BessTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Kiln Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Old Kiln Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing