We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Askernish

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Askernish
Ranked #5 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Olpe, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at Askernish B&B for three nights and this was one of the best B&Bs that we have ever been to. Our room (double + spare bed) was nice, tidy and had everything we needed, but the bathroom was even better. It was very spacious with a big shower and a beautiful bathtub in the middle of the room which also had a window.
The breakfast was brilliant. You could choose between a traditional fare, smoked haddock (excellent!) and grilled kippers.
Joy was a lovely host, willing to make the stay as comfortable as possible, giving good recommendations and she has even given us a ride to a distillery.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. We were offered two different rooms and chosen the one upstairs with a huge bathroom. The room was very tidy,cosy, quiet, and wonderfully furnished. Bathroom was clean and spacious (bathtub and shower were big). Breakfast was excellent (lots of choices).
The B&B owner (Joy) was cheerful and very friendly. Great accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lari96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just had an overnight stay at Askernish and I have got to say it was the best nights sleep I have had for over 2 years. Everything about the B&B is absolutely fantastic. Joy takes so much pride in all she does. Fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Benbecula
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed at the Askernish Bed and Breakfast for two nights in Jan 2012 and had an excellent stay.

Joy was a perfect host.

On arriving at the accommodation and speaking to Joy (who had just arrived home from the mainland) she stated that the house was a wee bit cold and that the heating was on full but has also put a heater in my room to make sure that i wasn't cold and uncomfortable.

The accommodation was excellent and reasonably priced. Joy is extremely friendly and makes you feel at ease straight away.

Breakfast can be anything you wish (within reason) and Joy likes to keep you company if you are there on your own.

An excellent Bed and Breakfast and would recommend to anyone wishing to go to Islay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

It was really a pleasure to spend a night here!
The owner was very kind even to bring us to Lagavulin distillery :-)
In the morning there was a selection from different tasty dishes.
I will stay here again next time for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iGORmnemonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Brilliant B&B, look no further when you come off the ferry. The Landlady (Joy!)is a character and a delight. Comfortable, friendly and very reasonable. You'll have as much fun with Joy as a night out in a distillery. Reason enough to visit Islay, never mind the other attractions.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davyclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Joy the hostess at Askernish was exactly that..a JOY! She is ready to make appointments at distilleries, call rental car companies(over and over), give advice on anything Islay and her breakfasts were yummy too. Choice of a cooked breakfast plus yogurt, toast crumpets, cereal ,juices, lovely tea and coffe. We were very happy we chose Askernish.
We stayed in a wonderful, inviting room. The roomy bath was romantic with big slipper tub as well as a roomy shower. Coffee and tea were available in your room.The bed was comfy and we slept well. Located right across from the harbour, the view is terrific.
Highly recommed the indian restaurant in town. It is well priced and delicious and you can bring in your own alcohol. The choc fudge cake at the white hart inn was YUM! Dinner was just so so but the roaring fire was very welcoming and the service was good.
We came to Islay for the distilleries, and left feeling like it would never have been as amazing without experiencing with Joy's help and laughter.

Room Tip: The big tub room upstairs is very very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
11.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
10.9 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#4 of 17 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.7 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askernish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askernish

Property: Askernish
Address: Frederick Crescent, Port Ellen PA42 7DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Askernish Port Ellen, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing