We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable stay in the middle of nowhere (Lossit...”
other travelers have booked this property
Kilchoman Cottages External View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kilchoman Cottages External View
Dundonald.  Bowmore Whisky by the Fire Dundonald Kitchen Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Kilchoman Cottages External View
Dundonald.  Bowmore Whisky by the Fire
Dundonald Kitchen Area
Dundonald Sitting Room
Bowmore Distillery
Kilchoman House and Cottages
Machir Bay five minutes by car
Kilchoman House set in 37 Acres of Farmland
Machir Cottage Kilchoman
Sanaig Sitting Room Kilchoman
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Port Charlotte, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
James S
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in the middle of nowhere (Lossit Cottage)”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

You enter on the top floor of the cottage, and it is surprisingly spacious on the inside. Located on the western side of Islay away from the small towns down a lengthy single-track road, but it is not busy even though there is a distillery nearby.

The sitting area was quite compact, but the kitchen and dining area was reasonably spacious. For two of us there was plenty of space. Mobile signal, as on most of the islands, was effectively non-existent.

Nearby beach was lovely and perfect for a sunset, which we managed to experience. Many of Islay's roads are double track, which makes getting around pretty easy, and it was very quiet everywhere even though it was Whisky Festival week.

A trip to Jura is a must - an amazing day out.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa J
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A touch of luxury”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a week staying in Dundonald Cottage and what a wonderful stay we had. The cottage itself is one of the best holiday rentals we have stayed in and I would happily recommend it to anyone. The location was also excellent with the sea at the bottom of the garden and pier just a few yards from the front door. We hope to return.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreafL6...
1 review
“Idyllic Retreat”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a lovely stay in the Saligo cottage. It was well equipped and very cosy. It was perfectly situated near beautiful beaches and on the back door of Kilchoman distillery.
The welcome letter and homemade tablet was a thoughtful and appreciated touch.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great place to escape the day job!”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

For reasonably priced accommodation on Islay, head to Kilchoman. Our cottage had a well equipped kitchen and good quality, fresh smelling bedding and towels. The property was presented spotlessly clean upon arrival (c/o Morvern I'm assuming) and a representative of the cottages will meet you shortly after arrival. Machir Beach (you'll only sometimes share it with others) and Kilchoman Distillery - for food and drink - are on the doorstep; both are walkable. Sunsets, from above the beach, and the abundance of bird life all make for a relaxing stay. If you get the chance, take a guided walk with the warden at Loch Gruinart and buy a bottle from the Caol Ila (say 'Cull Ea-la') Distillery, the friendliest on the Island.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic location, great for bird watching”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed staying in this property. It was well equipped and cosy, but we were disappointed with the very poor WiFi signal. (No mobile signal, we could cope with!) The location was quiet and peaceful and there were lots of birds to watch. The nearby beach was a dream and we had a lovely walk around the cliffs and over to Port Charlotte. It would have been useful to know that the nearest shop was 10 miles away.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Maggie,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay, wifi is by satellite and "variable" although we hope a much improved system will be available on the island by next year. Kilchoman is definitely rural!

Best regards

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugoshuma...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very comfortable luxury”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Dundonald Cottage and have to say it was one of the best holiday rentals we have stayed in. While being a very high standard it also felt so comfortable. Equipped to a very high standard and beautifully clean. Would recommend with out a moments hesitation.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger_ni...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful cottage”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and some friends had a brilliant time staying in one of the cottages. WE had a lovely warm welcome and there were nice little touches like a packet of yummy 'tablet' on arrival. The cottage was clean and very warm - warm enough to not need the fire, but we lit it anyway and really enjoyed the experience of drinking excellent Islay whisky, on Islay, in front of a roaring peat fire! The location is peaceful and very scenic. Would very much love to stay here again!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing