We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best?”
Review of Octofad Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Charlotte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Octofad Farm
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply the best?”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here with friends from the mainland and we were all agreed that this Guest House sets the standard for the rest. Cathy came out to meet us, prepared tea and coffee while we unpacked, and made us feel immediately at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were of a good size with all amenities, and everything was sparkiling clean.

The breakfasts were delicious, all local produce, a huge selection and the most luscious fresh fruit salads.

A beautiful location, breathtaking views, wild birds in the garden......

This will be my first choice of home from home next time I visit Islay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 762elis_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed on Islay the week before the whisky festival, it was a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable holiday and Octofad Farm was a great place to stay. Cathy is so friendly and welcoming, our room was very nice with a lovely bathroom, and the porridge and kippers were absolutely delicious. The farm is in a beautiful situation with stunning views and there is a large shared living room to relax in with a great library of information. Highly recommended, we really didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountBossula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our ferry to Islay was delayed by some 7 hours, meaning that it was gone 10pm when we eventually arrived at Octofad Farm. No matter! Despite the late hour, Cathy was outside welcoming us to her lovely home!
We enjoyed 4 nights hospitality here, and particularly enjoyed not just the welcome, but the relaxed style of the place, the large lounge (complete with tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits, Sky TV and a very comprehensive library of books and leaflets about Islay) and, above all, the fabulous breakfasts (which included porridge, and Loch Fyne kippers)!
We enjoyed two days of sunshine in which to explore this fascinating island; for the third day ---- when it rained --- we had saved a visit to one of the 8 distilleries. So much to see, and so little time!
If you are planning a trip to Islay, do consider a stay at Octofad ----- you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodwinmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We Really enjoyed our stay,lovely room,cathy and her husband were lovely hosts and the breakfast was top notch! Stags in the garden made our visit! Thankyou for a wonderfull stay! Hope to vist again soon
Sheena and Donny.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

On arrival I had to take a few minutes just appreciate the view, it is stunning, a uninterrupted vista across the water of Loch Indaal. The Paps of Jura standing majestic overlooking the Isles of Islay and Jura. A very warm welcome was offered by Cathy and I was promptly served coffe and biscuits in the lounge. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and the ensuite facilities were excellent. Breakfast was first class, prepared exactly as I had requested. I only stayed here for one night but I will not hesitate in booking here the next time I visit Islay. This how all B&Bs should be!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uktim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were spacious and very clean and bed was comfortable.
The living room with coffee & tea facilities (& scottish shortbread!) as well as guide books were an added bonus.
Breakfast was simply wonderful, Kathy was happy to chop & change things around and was flexible to the time we wanted breakfast for.
Bathroom came with lovely toiletries and shower pressure was great!
Shame we only I stayed one night, the views from the house is lovely and it would be nice to have one late afternoon to relax indoors whilst enjoying the views outside.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DolphinsNSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Cathy's kindness and helpfulness began even before we arrived when she sent a list of B&Bs for the neighbouring island of Jura, and after we left when she arranged for keys we'd stupidly left behind to be got to us as we came off Jura. Her own B&B was everything that everyone else has described - we couldn't fault it. It was clean, comfortable and thoughtful. Breakfast was wonderful - a big bowl of fresh fruit salad which is what we so often miss at other places, and fresh eggs cooked to perfection. We moved on to a much pricier hotel and were very disappointed that it lacked so much of Cathy's refinements: TV in the room (not usually essential, but it was during the Olympics), fresh milk instead of horrid little plastic pots, bottles of water to take walking, and lovely complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. So thoroughly recommend Octofad Farm to anyone, and hope to revisit before too long.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
5.9 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
39 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
385 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#1 of 13 in Bowmore
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Burnside Lodge
Burnside Lodge
#1 of 1 in Portnahaven
40 reviews
10.5 mi away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octofad Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octofad Farm

Property: Octofad Farm
Address: Port Charlotte, Port Charlotte PA48 7UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Octofad Farm Port Charlotte, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing