We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable B&B and great hostess”
Review of Octofad Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Charlotte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Octofad Farm
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Rooms were spacious and very clean and bed was comfortable.
The living room with coffee & tea facilities (& scottish shortbread!) as well as guide books were an added bonus.
Breakfast was simply wonderful, Kathy was happy to chop & change things around and was flexible to the time we wanted breakfast for.
Bathroom came with lovely toiletries and shower pressure was great!
Shame we only I stayed one night, the views from the house is lovely and it would be nice to have one late afternoon to relax indoors whilst enjoying the views outside.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank DolphinsNSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Cathy's kindness and helpfulness began even before we arrived when she sent a list of B&Bs for the neighbouring island of Jura, and after we left when she arranged for keys we'd stupidly left behind to be got to us as we came off Jura. Her own B&B was everything that everyone else has described - we couldn't fault it. It was clean, comfortable and thoughtful. Breakfast was wonderful - a big bowl of fresh fruit salad which is what we so often miss at other places, and fresh eggs cooked to perfection. We moved on to a much pricier hotel and were very disappointed that it lacked so much of Cathy's refinements: TV in the room (not usually essential, but it was during the Olympics), fresh milk instead of horrid little plastic pots, bottles of water to take walking, and lovely complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. So thoroughly recommend Octofad Farm to anyone, and hope to revisit before too long.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Wonderful B&B in a idyllic setting. Cathy welcomed us with a pot of tea in the sitting room with an assortment of biscuits. Our room was very tidy and well-kept. The breakfast room was particularly sunny and bright with a gorgeous views. It's very close to Port Charlotte, which is close to Bruichladdich. Cathy was very welcoming and even offered to wash a pair of pants for us when she was doing a load of laundry. The breakfasts were very tasty and filling. The black pudding was especially good.

Room Tip: We had the double room with a shower, highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericansinScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Super accommodation, wonderful views, great hospitality and breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleagedScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent a very enjoyable time with Cathy at Octofad Farm. She was very welcoming with a cup of tea and homemade cake. There is not much to say as other reviews say it all so would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The welcome on our rainy arrival was both warm and considerate. A brolley was provided to introduce us to Cathy and her friendly home.The accommodation was lovely, a large comfy bed with en-suite shower was wonderfull. The large sitting room was made homely by Cathy telling us to "put your feet up, and relax", which we did. All manner of help was given, an auction catalogue was kindly waiting in our room for us to look at, and Cathy was a mine of info about the island, giving directions and timetables of attractions. But the breakfast we were given was fabulous, no-one goes away from Octofad hungry!!!!! Thank you for a lovely visit, hope to return in the near future.Tom and Val

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

From the phonecall to book for the one night at Octofad I had a feeling this was going to be a rather special place. We arrived in the dark from the evening ferry crossing to Islay to find Cathy standing on the front step with a torch to welcome us in. The accommodation is first class, my bathroom was huge, the sitting room comfortable and well equipped, the bedroom had everything I needed.
Breakfast catered for one of my travelling companions wish for Scottish breakfast (kippers and scrambled eggs!) and my preference the healthier option. Fresh fruit doesn't seem that difficult to provide but it is surprising how some "quality " hotels don't seem to manage more than tinned grapefuit.
Daylight gave us the fantastic vista across the bay and a comedy show of the collie dog sitting on the back of the quad bike while Cathy's husband shepherded the sheep.
Cathy is a wonderful B&B host and Octofad offers very good value, I would have no hesitation in recomending and will definitely stay there again when I return to Islay.
Thanks Cathy
B

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Octofad Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octofad Farm

Address: Port Charlotte, Port Charlotte PA48 7UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Charlotte
Price Range: $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Octofad Farm Port Charlotte, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing