We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great music”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port Charlotte Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great music”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just visited this hotel during the whisky festival, had a great time, the music was great, staff friendly and the food was very good. It's a bit more expensive than your average bar food but is value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for our complimentary review regarding your visit during the whisky festival week. What a great fun week it has been hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    60
    21
    22
    8
See reviews for
52
108
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Drumnadrochit, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Staying in Port Charlotte for Islay Walk Week I was surprised and delighted to see a beer on tap in the bar from my home village in Drumnadrochit. It was from the Loch Ness Brewery. What pleasant surprise!

This hotel always delights. Very friendly and superbly comfortable. Our last meal there on the Friday was the best I've had for a long time. I especially enjoyed sitting in the lounge after the meal and appreciated Fraser, the Maitre'd, kindly popping through to the bar for me to save getting out of my comfy chair.

Room Tip: Try for rooms one and two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithfromDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you appreciated the beer from the Loch Ness Brewery. We do try to vary the beers that we have on tap and to support both our local and mainland breweries. It is good to know that you were well looked after and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

we paid this hotel a visit after a long week end in islay... the food was absolutely fantastic....all cooked to perfection. i have eaten in michelin star eaters before and this was better than a lot.
if you are looking for a nice meal on a trip to islay this is one not to miss.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your very complimentary review. It is certainly high praise for our chef's who very much appreciate your acknowledgement. it is a pleasure to have provided a memorable end to your stay on Islay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just back from a weekend stay in the beautiful island of Islay. We stayed at the stunning Port Charlotte Hotel and the food & accommodation was first class.
The hotel is extremely comfortable and run by a genial host who ensures a good time is had by all.
The variety of scotch whiskey on offer is staggering and the atmosphere in the bar is second to none.

Looking forward to returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Book room no1 or2 the quality is excellent and so is the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allisi, Manager at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us I do hope you will come back again in the near future perhaps for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in March, and took advantage of their "Malt, Music, and Culture" tour package. I cannot emphasize how much we enjoyed everything! The tour package was worth every penny.

The tour schedule drawn up for us included distillery tours, visiting landmarks and cultural sites, meals, breaks for resting when needed, and driving us to and from the ferry/airport upon arrival and departure. We didn't need to worry about a single thing from start to finish.They were happy to accommodate changes, such as my request to go somewhere I could purchase some local wool for knitting. We had a marvelous time at all the distilleries and sites we visited. Highlights included a visit to a local spring guided by the farmer who owns the land, and a whisky-tasting supper hosted by the amazing Martine, who is a charming supper companion as well as being an absolute expert in Islay whiskies. Much more than just shuttling us around to various spots, our tour was designed to give us personalized experiences that we would never have had on our own.

For the three days of our tour, we were shuttled around by our wonderful driver, Freddy, and escorted by our excellent host, Fraser. Both of them were so friendly, and went out of their ways to make sure we were enjoying every minute. They absolutely made the tour extra fun and special. I would also add that not having to worry about scheduling, maps, driving on narrow roads, etc. was a huge bonus for us, and allowed us to enjoy the distilleries and sites much more than we would have if we'd had to worry about all that.

As for the accommodations at the hotel: We loved our room, which had sea and street views. Although the interior of the hotel is charming, it can seem a little dated; however, the bathroom in our room was very recently renovated, and was a joy to use. Everything was clean and beautifully decorated. Our room was a welcome respite when we needed a quiet rest. The common areas of the hotel are also lovely and warm, with a comfortable seating area (where the wifi signal is strongest -- we couldn't usually connect from other parts of the hotel), a beautiful dining room, and -- our favourite -- the pub, which features beautiful wood carvings, a cozy coal fireplace, and a friendly and attentive bartender (who was very patient with my terrible Canadian attempts at pronouncing the various whiskies I ordered!).

The food is also excellent. Our tour package included breakfast and supper at the hotel every day, and lunches either at the hotel or elsewhere depending on our schedule that day. Breakfast included serve-yourself fruits, yogurt, and cereals, plus table service for à la carte hot items. It was all quite good, although we never managed to do the "full Scottish" justice! Suppers at the hotel were just incredibly good, it made me wish I had a much bigger appetite. Lots of local fare available, including seafood that was caught earlier in the day, all prepared beautifully. Live music in the pub was very entertaining, and justifiably drew a crowd -- I was very happy we had a reserved table that night! The service was consistently excellent, both professional and friendly, from all hotel staff at all times.

In short, this was one of the best travel experiences either of us have had. It was perfect for us, extremely enjoyable, relaxing, and fun. I would not hesitate to recommend the Port Charlotte Hotel. I very much hope they are still running these tours years hence, because I know we will come back if we possibly can -- we didn't ever want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive and valued review. We are delighted to that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and all the various aspects of the tour. Our aim is to provide our guests with a comfortable stress free visit, touring the island, being able to enjoy a dram on distillery tours while all the time being driven and escorted around. Your feed back is very much appreciated and we do hope you will visit sometime in the future to relive it all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Popped over to the island with no accommodation booked, spotted this place whilst exploring and couldn't resist staying. It was the log fire in the bar that swayed us! Rooms and facilities were all perfect, as they should be for the price. The staff, evening meal, views, drinks, whiskey and breakfast were all perfect. Bar crowd a mix of locals and tourists that made for a nice atmosphere. All just a bit expensive I thought, but we left smiling.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat-Nature-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had two nights here to celebrate a birthday and had a wonderful stay.
The hotel is charming and characterful. Our room (room 9) was quietly situated and beautifully decorated with tasteful antique furniture. However, the bathroom was modern with an excellent shower and nice "Au Lait" toiletries by Arran Aromatics (a favourite of mine!)
Views out across the sea are stunning and going to sleep to the sound of waves lapping on the beach can't be beaten.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and couldn't fault the food, in fact we both agreed that the duck was the best we'd ever tasted. I can also recommend the salmon and the cheese-board (three delicious local cheeses with plenty of accompaniments)
Service on both nights was friendly and efficient.
As others have mentioned, there is also a large comfortable lounge for drinks, with loads of books to read, and a great cosy bar with a roaring fire and a brilliant selection of whiskies - of course!
Sadly we missed the live music that was billed for Sunday night - so we will have to return. As you can imagine, this will not be a hardship!

Room Tip: Ours was quiet but had a couple of extra stairs in and out so may not suit everybody. I would imagin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for you complimentary review. It is good to know that you enjoyed the ambiance, food and service and to finish off the night listening to the sound of the sea as you drift off to sleep. Just a pity that you missed a music night! I do hope we can welcome you back again. We have local musicians playing on Wednesday and Sunday evenings throughout the season. We may also have guest musicians when we can during the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
5.7 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
27 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
175 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
518 reviews
6.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
128 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Charlotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Charlotte Hotel

Property: Port Charlotte Hotel
Address: Main St, Port Charlotte PA48 7TU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Charlotte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Port Charlotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Charlotte Hotel Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing