We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Charlotte Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Port Askaig Hotel(Port Askaig)
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)(Great Value!)
$103
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Causeway Hotel(Bushmills)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Portballintrae)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Arms Hotel(Campbeltown)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Islay House(Bridgend)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
158
74
26
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
74
26
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslive musicbar menuoysterslocal musiciansthe pubwine listlamb shankchowderhotel staffthe main dining roomexcellent foodmain courserecent triplong weekendhigh standardreal firea real gem
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 291 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights over a long weekend in mid August. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Had a very nice quiet room with newly refurbished ensuite bathroom. Location right beside the little beach and harbour is excellent.
Breakfast was nicely prepared to order, good choice available.
Dinner can be taken in the slightly more formal restaurant or in the bar or conservatory. Menus are different but quality and presentation excellent. Live music is played in the bar on wednesday and Sunday nights and it is well worth booking a table for dinner in the bar on these evenings. Superb selection of malt whiskies as one would would hope in Islay.
A very enjoyable stay in a hotel that can be highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only 10 rooms, most with sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowDrMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We went for a bar meal while on Islay. Tables crushed in round a very busy bar. Serving staff in experienced and did not make you feel welcome. Maybe because we weren't staying there!! Children's meal was awful. 4 Pale smiley faces and 4 chicken nuggets for £4.75!! Sorry but couldn't recommend it. Special chicken and leek pie arrived thrown on the plate with cold potatoes. So disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank weemaisiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Sunday evening meal, good menu choices and our meals when they arrived were beautifully cooked and presented. Portions were generous , indeed we felt that the starter we each chose ( smoked mackerel pâté) was actually big enough for one portion to have satisfied us both!
Prices were high , but at least that bought us high quality food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CAMERON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had the beginnings of a a lovely meal at the PC Hotel while on a recent holiday on Islay. The food sampled was excellent. The staff were pleasant but seemed inexperienced. Our table, booked for 6.30pm, was needed for another party at 8pm.. At 7.40 pm we were told that as the table was needed, we did not have time for sweets. Why not? Could the party coming in at 8pm not have had a drink in the bar and chosen from the menu before being shown to the table? We would have had sweets at the table, coffees and drinks in the bar if necessary. We would have made an evening of our night in Port Charlotte sampling the whiskies on offer in the bar. However, there is another inn. And we assume that there will be room there when we next visit Islay. Lochindaal Hotel here we come!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank sweetpea130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Port Charlotte Hotel in the past, and returned in August 2013 based on those positive previous experiences. Travelling to Islay in peak month August will not be inexpensive and paying London prices for a hotel on Islay may seem pricey. But the hotel is very good - lovely restaurant and bar with live music two nights a week (at least during the Summer months). Great, vibrant atmosphere with excellent food in the restaurant. The drawback, if there is one, is cost. Frankly you will spend more travelling around Scotland than most anywhere in Europe if you are staying in half decent hotels. But on Islay, I am not aware (after three visits) of any better place to stay. Very nice staff - book the restaurant or you will never get in, The lobster is delicious as is the rest of menu. Great stay, pricey, but worth it

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews