We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and fab playground”
Review of Port Mor Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Charlotte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Mor Campsite
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food and fab playground”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Never stay here but visit often when in Port Charlotte as my son loves the play park and the cafe serves good , well priced hot meals in a clean environment with fantastic views. There are always loads of visiting and local kids to play with and have spent many a happy evening here , my son on the slides and me with the binoculars after dinner ! Toilets always immaculate. Cant wait to go back next week !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Camped here for one night after several days on Jura. Staff very helpful on arrival. As it was very windy we enjoyed a coffee prior to pitching the tent. We chose to pitch close to the wooden fence beside the play area to get shelter, however the wind had completely died away by late evening.

Facilities and the toilet/shower area are first class and could not be faulted. Fantastic location, would return and this campsite comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piper348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is a fab wee campsite, friendly and welcoming. We arrived on a rather windy Monday, ( if ur camping in a tent i suggest using the thick plastic pegs and plenty of them) and had the pick of the whole site. We chose to camp up beside the park for a sheltered spot. We had 4 children with us, and they had an absolute ball at the park and the football pitch. The centre is VERY clean with 4 female hot showers and 4 male showers both with communal dressing area which is ideal if u have children with u. There is a washing machine and tumble dryer and a freezer which we used. The centre also had a cafe which serves snacks and meals. Which I thot was very reasonable. There is a pool table and darts board, with WiFi . In all a great campsite and the wind did not deter us one bit. WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stampie1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Fab location, stunning views and handy for the local village. The facilities here are excellent - showers, laundry, toilets, cafe - and the whole building is absolutely immaculate...seriously so spotlessly clean you could eat your dinner off the floor. There is also a really good children's play area if you have kids. Friendly and helpful staff too. Downside? The campsite is very exposed and there is no shelter from the wind. I know it was freak weather when we stayed there recently but even when there is just a breeze I can imagine it still feeling like there is a gale blowing when you are inside your tent. Nonetheless the staff were very helpful towards us and accommodated us inside the building when our tent was destroyed by the wind.
Islay is beautiful and I would return but only if I was staying in a cottage (or camper van in which case i would definitely return to this spotlessly clean beautifully situated campsite!)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbiethecollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Having looked for campsites on Islay and been put off by the reviews of Kintra, we booked Port Mor Campsite in Port Charlotte, Islay.
Unfortunately there was no hook up for tents and hook up was only available in a different part of the site for caravans.
The views are stunning and you are right beside the water. There are loads of flat areas to pitch. A word of warning, if the weather turns nasty you might be better camping up towards the shower block as the winds can be fierce.
There are decent facilities with the laundry, showers and cafe.
The showers are in a communal changing room and you don't have private facilities to get dried and dressed. There was good water pressure in the shower and the water was hot. The disabled shower was out of order at the time of our visit.
The cafe was a bit overpiced (in my opinion), 2 rolls with bacon (on sesame seeded burger buns) and 2 cups of tea came to £11.90 which was an experience we did not repeat.
We will definitely come back to Port Mor.

Helpful?
5 Thank thechunkeymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.5 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
6.2 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
6.4 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#4 of 17 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Mor Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Mor Campsite

Property: Port Mor Campsite
Address: | Port Mòr Centre, Port Charlotte, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Charlotte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Port Charlotte
Also Known As:
Port Mor Campsite Port Charlotte, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing