We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great crack , banter and fantastic food”
Review of Lochindaal Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Charlotte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochindaal Hotel
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great crack , banter and fantastic food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Lochindaal hotel what great crack you get from the Iain the minehost the locals are very friendly.The the food is fantastic, great choice of sea food and being on islay and even greater choice of whisky. Iain make you feel right at home with a warm welcome and with the banter from the locals the nights go in fast. Iain is more than happy to help arrange visits to the distillerys and other local attractions and with his local knowledge helps you get the most from your visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinrachelellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOCHINDAAL, Owner at Lochindaal Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Iain is certainly always keen to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time staying with us.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    11
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
23
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was up for a weekend visit as my husband is working on the island this hotel was excellent. Food great as was the staff. Would love to come back in the summer. Seafood platter and Sunday dinner were both thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzycPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOCHINDAAL, Owner at Lochindaal Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We would like to thank you for your lovely review, it was very much appreciated and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and your food so much.
We very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

FANTASTIC loved every minute of my stay. People and atmosphere Is second to none thank you Iain for your hospitality I will be back soon. Highly recommend this hotel food was brilliant I felt like I was visiting family

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmacinnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOCHINDAAL, Owner at Lochindaal Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your delightful review. We very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Superb seafood platter at the Lochindaal Hotel. Fresh from the fishing boats onto your plate. Couldn't get better that this anywhere else in the world. Excellent service from Ian and Sarah. We have been before and will definitely be going back.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DSAIslay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOCHINDAAL, Owner at Lochindaal Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We are really delighted you enjoyed your seafood dinner and we really appreciate your lovely comments - high praise indeed. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Sadly I was not not staying here but spent a fantastic evening here. Great friendly warm atmosphere. Inadvertently left my purse here, which was set back asap. Will be back next year!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 007Harriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATIE M, Owner at Lochindaal Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We were so glad 007Harriet had a great experience with us and we are grateful for writing such a lovely review. we're also delighted you got your purse back.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent a week fishing on Islay . Every evening ate in the Loch Indaal hotel. The food was excellent and the hospitality second to none. The general appearance is that of a traditional Scottish pub, but appearances are often deceptive. The sea food comes out of the sea and in minutes arrives on your plate.How fresh can that be? The fact you are recommended to book in advance says everything you need to know about the quality of the food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archibald y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lochindaal Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Iain and I would like to thank you for your delightful review, we really appreciate your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future - slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Cannot believe that they are still advertising the 'recently refurbished accommodation.' Joiner's Loft is smelly, grubby and not fit for human habitation. We took one look and left. It was so bad that we were prepared to take the next available ferry leaving the island or even sleep in the car. There should surely be some way to stop them luring unwitting tourists to this hell hole.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOCHINDAAL, Owner at Lochindaal Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
We thank you for you feedback and were sorry to hear you had a far from pleasurable experience.
The rooms in Joiner's Loft are usually very clean and fresh and have been re-painted and generally spruced up since your stay in August 2011.
It should be remembered that we are a budget hotel offering budget prices.
Admittedly the website is out of date and it is in the process of being updated with relevant information, this should be completed by the end of April.
It is unfortunate that you chose to leave it 5 months before you wrote your review as this is obviously now out of date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.1 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
261 reviews
5.8 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
36 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Burnside Lodge
Burnside Lodge
#1 of 1 in Portnahaven
40 reviews
3.8 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#11 of 13 in Bowmore
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochindaal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochindaal Hotel

Property: Lochindaal Hotel
Address: Main Street, Port Charlotte PA48 7TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a small family run hotel with a friendly local atmosphere set in the picturesque white washed vilage of Port Charlotte. Our chef's speciality is fresh local seafood straight off the local fishing boats the same day it is prepared/cooked. Our chef prides himself in preparing dishes to suit every guest and with enough notice he can cook you almost anything. The public bar has a large wood burning stove, a pool table and a dart board. The bar also boasts a huge selection of very rare malts, some of which are served by the glass. The comfortable lounge bar accommodates guests wishing to enjoy lunch or dinner in front of a real Islay peat fire. Families with children are actively welcomed all day. Hotel accommodation is clean, convenient and great value for money. The hotel has five budget rooms located in the main hotel and four well appointed ensuite rooms set away from the hotel in the Joiner's Loft and the Peat House; they offer privacy and peace away from the busy bar and hotel. 'The Lochindaal' is a truly local establishment with a world wide reputation - an experience not to be missed. The owner's family (The MacLellan's) have owned the hotel for over 100 years and this is reflected in the warm Islay welcome you always receive. Slainte! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lochindaal Hotel Port Charlotte, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing