We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good honest pub grub”

The Port Askaig Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good honest pub grub”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Occupied ourselves quite happily here while waiting for our ferry home. The food was typical pub grub but no less enjoyable for that. Service and chat from the waitress was lovely and we were allowed to bring our dog in which was very much appreciated by us. Coffees were very good and an excellent selection of whisky kept me happy before the journey home

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacquie475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice view but very folksy”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food was just reasonable and quite expensive. The service was quite odd, as we had three different people come and take our order, so there was a bit of confusion.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyotmunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muiden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sea food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

order a day before we did when we came back for the second time, we got lobster crab scallops mussels more then we could eat, with half a bottle of malt they charged us less then 90 pounds, it was a nice smaal price for a great meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank oorlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Necessity”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

As the port contains only a couple of buildings the choices for food are limited. However, the feel of the pub and the friendliness of the staff allow you to pass an hour or so waiting for the ferry. The food is pub grub but quells the hunger at a reasonable price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We can only rate this 3 out of 5 but let's be clear; the food is good, the owners are great and the location is amazing. What lets it down? Organisation is poor, accountability in terms of who ordered what and where they are sitting would be improved by providing a "numbered wooden spoon" method, easily adopted and cheap. Contact me to find out how! Visit this place for a lunch and a drink on your way home - it's not disappointing at all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowCurryClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Port Askaig Restaurant also viewed

Port Charlotte, Islay
 

Been to The Port Askaig Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing