We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were treated like family”
Review of Port Askaig Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Askaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Askaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Askaig
Canada
1 review
“We were treated like family”
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Stayed in the annex. Decor is a little dated but it was clean and comfortable. Price was an issue for us and we feel we received excellent value. We spent our last evening in the "Snug Bar" with the hosts sharing tales of life on the island and other guests chiming in with more details as well as humming the tune of "Leaving Port Askaig" so I could recognise it. A magical visit - made moreso by the welcoming hosts and staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3generationshence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    67
    34
    25
    34
See reviews for
31
70
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

The self-catering apartment was well stocked and had everything we could need. The views were outstanding from each of the front windows and there was constant hot water. Marian ws a very freindly and helpful lady who did all she could to make our stay comfortable. It was agood base from which to explore Islay and Jura - both beautiful in their own ways - we had a lovely holiday and the weather was brialliant. Heather - Lancashire.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsie-MayLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Arriving after a long drive from Glasgow by afternoon boat and after taken a short distillery visit we landed on Port Askaig Hotel. After a very nice welcome and familiar practical things we got everything as agreed - good seafood, whiskytasting, several nice bar-evenings, local band (guitar-banjo-accordion-digitalbagpipe) on Friday and finally also some tunes of an real bagpipe - amazing. A bit dancing and drinking - everybody was happy. The laid-back feeling and positive thinking immediately overhelms you. Hotelrooms in coastal areas around our earth are always a bit humid, heating to be put on at arrival, showers had their tricks/buttons to find to get them warm - still everything worked well. Price and quality really met well and we were all pleased. Highly recommended, thank you again Marion - do state your needs in advance to Marion and she will fix it for you for sure. Jan-Erik, a Finn living in Sweden.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Finn_in_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Ex Pat
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Right on the door step of the ferry, the hotel is not as clean and tidy as the adverts suggests on the ferry or web...the place seems tired and run down and in need of restoration to at least get rid of the damp in the rooms. The bar was functional but the complaints from locals re the draft beers was noticable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peak45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We were a rather big group who last week visited the lovely island in purpose to take part of the good whiskey. The stay we hadn´t expected much of because we were there for "the water of life" but what a NICE BIG SURPRISE our stay at this cozy hotel became ! This many hundreds of years old hotel became our basecamp which we always returned to, we didn´t need the big citys like Bowmore or Port Ellen. Especially the two owners were magnificent, they fixed everything we needed even some nice fresh seafood. We got a good hint of the local traditions while the bar was the gatheringpoint in the evenings. Certainly coming back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgemanOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

The Port Askaig hotel had two redeeming reatures - the two Slovakian (?) ladies who seemed to work tirelessly across every area of the hotel with enthusiasm, and the ferry outside the front door to get over to Jura, or anwhere else in-fact!
We visited Islay by bicycle, and enjoyed the diverse island, its history, whisky, and some great meals (in Bowmore, Port Charlotte etc.), but the hotel was truely awful.
Rooms were filthy... to the extent that you wanted to sleep in your shoes, the fittings were straight from a 60's motel (literaly - there was a radio built into the headboard that looked antique, and didn't work), the bathroom had mildew, and there was no water pressure to shower in anything more than a drip. There were dead insects on the window sill, and years of cob-web build up behind the non-working TV.
The walls are paper thin, as was illustrated by th snorer next door, who woke me up with a start, as he was so loud I thought he'd climbed into bed with us!
The bar was pokey for residents and looked really dated, and the adjoining 'public' bar really felt like a men-only environment.
The only food we are was breakfast... avoid the sausage...
This hotel was so bad we felt we had to contact the tourist board to advise them of what they were endorsing.
I'm proud of my country, and of the beautiful scenery and hospitality it offers in abundance, and the shame here is that this hotel will give such a poor impression to visitors to Islay, and indeed Scotland.

  • Liked — The view of the next island
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mollypolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Askaig hotels

scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

have just returnd from a reacent trip to port askig. To replace a badly corroded access walk way to the local lifeboat .On arrival we booked into the selfcontaned appartment owned by the hotel well what can i say stone age ,decor ,fittings and furniture.Most of wich were broken inc. tv, heating, door locks etc etc etc.After two days the proprietor ian returned to find we were ther to help the local R.N.L.I .Upon this news he promply through us out of accomodation . He then proceded with a campian of dissruption to prevent the new access walk way to life boat being built.

  • Liked — local to work site
  • Disliked — proprietor
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank welder_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Askaig
13.0 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
7.2 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
7.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Askaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Askaig Hotel

Property: Port Askaig Hotel
Address: Port Askaig Isle of Islay | Argyllshire, Port Askaig PA46 7RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Askaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Askaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Askaig Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Askaig Hotel is a picturesque, family run Highland Inn on the shores of the Sound of Islay, overlooking the pier at which daily car ferries berth on arrival from the Scottish mainland. Due to its proximity to the ferry, it offers easy access to Jura, Colonsay and the mainland. Our Starboard Restaurant offers Bistro style dining, with a full meal service in both bars and hot snacks available out with main meal times.Menus feature the best of Islay's Larder from both land and sea with 'catch of the day' fresh from the harbour here a speciality.Our hotel garden provides organic vegetable and salads to compliment your choices. Our Port Bar is the oldest licensed premises on Islay and features an excellent selection of Islay Malts and a display of old and rare bottles. In season live traditional music is oftenplayed in the Old Port Bar. Enjoy a beer or a malt whisky in the garden- relax and watch the boats sail by. Islay and it's goodbye to care ...... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Port Askaig Hotel Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing