We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing way to end a great holiday ”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Askaig Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Askaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Askaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Askaig
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing way to end a great holiday ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at this dated hotel before getting the ferry (not much choice at ferry terminal!).
Food was good (excellent fish and chips and steak pie) and waiters were very nice and helpful. However, it was very off putting hearing the manager complaining loudly to her friends and berating her staff for cleaning the tables 'the incorrect way'. I felt very embarrassed for the waitress and think that it would have been more appropriate to deal with any staff training issues in private.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mhairi1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion S, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I will only say to this reviewer that I REGRET IF SHE WAS IN ANY WAY AFFECTED BY MY ACTIONS - however sometimes you have to act quickly and explain your reasons for doing so and short of grabbing the stong chemical spray from the girl's hand I could only prevent the wooden table from being irriversably damaged by stopping her and explaining fully why she was being stopped from that method of cleaning. Her first language is not english so I deliberately slowly overstated the point and told her - not for the first time - how real wood should be treated.
I have managed the hotel for over 15 years and most of my staff - foreign and local have been with me for 7 - 15 years so your insinuation that I would not be aware - given a non urgent situation - that training etc. is better undertaken at more suitable times is patronising to say the least.
I am pleased that you and your companion enjoyed your meal, however despite this the hotel now has a low score of 2 from you which reflects on all my staff - most undeservedly - including the young waitress who on the whole is a very satisfactory summer student.
The hotel is over 450 years old,and is not and will never look like a travel lodge but has it's own charm which many hundreds of returning guests enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    65
    31
    25
    33
See reviews for
31
65
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Wanted a meal on Islay before catching last ferry to Kintyre at 6:00pm. Tourist office in Bowmore kindly arranged with the hotel for us to have a meal prepared by the chef starting earlier than normal at 4:30pm just for us. The meal was perfect and made a very pleasant end to our two days on Islay. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Port Askaig hotel was our last stop on the island. We arrived soaking wet after a bike ride from a brilliant day at bruichladdich distillery open day. Had a great meal ... Shame about the open bar door letting in the midges ! We had a comfy clean room. The staff were friendly and welcoming. More important was the after sales service. We stupidly left a couple of prints we had bought from a local artist. Elaine promptly parcelled them up and arranged for them to be sent. Nothing was a problem. This kind of help and professionalism is so important in the hospitality industry and Port Askaig Hotel excelled.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed for a few nights in the single room Staffa, the room and en-suite are perfectly comfortable but the view is of the adjacent car park, it you want a sea view take someone with you and get a double room! As a digression this hotel isn't alone in providing only adequate accommodation for single travellers but at least the WC was en-suite and not down the corridor.

The hotel is generally tired but it's homely and the staff are most welcoming. I couldn't understand an earlier reviewer's comment that the cheapest bar meal was £12.95, there were main courses available from £6.95 although the restaurant menu was dearer.

From my experiences of the west coast and islands I didn't expect any more or less, if you want TV, a mobile signal and wi-fi on demand everywhere you go then consider an alternative destination.

Room Tip: No view from the single room and I don't believe all the bigger rooms had views either, best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAG018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Only stayed for one night as I was on business, this is just a statment not a complaint there was no tv in the room iI was in and no mobile reception in the area perfect for me.The food is excellent and very fresh. I know as I watched the chef walk across the beer garden to the harbourside and order her scallops from a fisherman who was just going out. The staff and the owners are very welcoming and certainly very friendly. This hotel makes a pleasant change to the normal chain type. Would recommend this for a true Scottish experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a wonderfuly meal and excellent evening at Port Askaig Hotel. Our friends, who had never been to Islay before were treated to a first class meal, especially the seafood which was beautifully fresh and well presented. Congratulations to all the staff and Marion and Ian who were as usual fantastic company.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcintosh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just spent 1 week ending 2nd of May in the apartment.The bedrooms and ensuites had been recently refurbished and were a very good standard.The views of the Paps of Jura from the windows were breathtaking. The apartment was lovely and warm and the meal we had at the hotel was very good. On the Saturday night a local folk group entertained us and they were excellent.All in all we had a very good holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam-Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Askaig
13.0 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
7.2 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
7.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Askaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Askaig Hotel

Property: Port Askaig Hotel
Address: Port Askaig Isle of Islay | Argyllshire, Port Askaig PA46 7RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Askaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Askaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Askaig Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Askaig Hotel is a picturesque, family run Highland Inn on the shores of the Sound of Islay, overlooking the pier at which daily car ferries berth on arrival from the Scottish mainland. Due to its proximity to the ferry, it offers easy access to Jura, Colonsay and the mainland. Our Starboard Restaurant offers Bistro style dining, with a full meal service in both bars and hot snacks available out with main meal times.Menus feature the best of Islay's Larder from both land and sea with 'catch of the day' fresh from the harbour here a speciality.Our hotel garden provides organic vegetable and salads to compliment your choices. Our Port Bar is the oldest licensed premises on Islay and features an excellent selection of Islay Malts and a display of old and rare bottles. In season live traditional music is oftenplayed in the Old Port Bar. Enjoy a beer or a malt whisky in the garden- relax and watch the boats sail by. Islay and it's goodbye to care ...... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Port Askaig Hotel Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing