We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most expensive Cullen Skink on the west coast?”
Review of Port Askaig Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Askaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Askaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Askaig
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We called in here for a drink and a bite to eat while we waited for the ferry to Jura.
The hotel has a nice little bar and we sheltered from the rain.
It's a habit of mine to order Cullen Skink if it's on the menu and I'd had a few during our trip, so seeing it listed as a main course here at £7.50 I ordered it wondering what a small pub could do to Cullen Skink to make it worth so much compared to the other one's I'd had.
To my disappointment I discovered a below average bowl of the soup in a serving which most places would have served as a starter.
A nice little pub which I left drier, but feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DaydreamE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammy253, Manager at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Probably a misunderstanding between waitress and kitchen for which I apologise. - we serve two portion sizes and you obviously got a starter portion. I would be happy to send you a refund if you e mail your full name and address to hotel@portaskaig.co.uk. Our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We called here for lunch while awaiting our ferry back to the main land with a party of eight . The hotel is in the most beautiful setting imaginable near the sea and facing the island of Jura . We found a table and ordered and paid for our meals this was two hours before our ferry was due to sail but after a wait of nearly one and a half hours no food had arrived , the place was in chaos everybody demanding their money back . What a missed opportunity for this hotel it's got everything going for it but the service was terrible .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Scotchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammy253, Owner at Port Askaig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Firstly sorry your table did not get served - we always regret any customer being disappointed at Port Askaig. However by way of explanation, on an average day we serve something between 25 - 40 lunches and are staffed accordingly. On the day in question our 2nd chef on his own cooked over 70 lunches - and not one of these customers had thought to phone to book. We are a small hotel and are not in a village so - no neighbours to call on in an emergency - no extra staff hiding in the wings. 3 customers 'not everyone' had a refund because of time problems with the ferry etc. You were one of the 3. Again I can only apologise and defend my staff who did their very best and for the record none of those who did eat had any complaint - I realise the customer is king never the less I find it unfair that you choose to judge our hotel on this small though disappointing experience. My staff have now been instructed not to accept further meal orders until chef instructs. We do not do fast food but do good food as fast as we can - again our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have to admit we weren't expecting much after reading some of the previous reviews. Though we've been fascinated by this place and left with great holiday experience.
It's a cozy hotel by the water with probably the best view in Scotland. It offers excellent food and great selection (and collection) of whiskey. It's situated near the ferry terminal to Jura and Mainland ferries and there is also a bus stop. Caol Ila and Bunnahabhain distilleries are at walking distances up to 3 miles from the hotel.
If you decide to stay at this place we would advise you to book a sea view room. Don't leave the place without trying some of the fresh seafood they offer (lobster, langoustines, hand-dive king scallops, mussels, brown crab, squat lobster) or at least the massive dinner fish & chips portion. You will find out that it is also a good value compared to Islay standards (and even compared to a lot of mainland hotels, restaurants and pubs).
Our favorite experience there is having a nice dram in the bar with the owner - extremely friendly and charming lady with many stories about this place, the whiskey and the island.
Slainte Marion!
P&A

Room Tip: Try the seafood platter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobyjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week,and thoroughly enjoyed the excellent breakfasts and evening meals,very well cooked using local produce. The fish was particularly good(not surprising as the fishing boats came in 20 yards away).The service was really good, and above all, everybody would go out of their way to help.Our ensuite room was quite adequate and spotlessly clean. Friday night we had live music with a talented couple from Jura,and the bar was full to bursting with local,very friendly people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stopped by at the Port Askaig Hotel for lunch as a last minute decision and what a find! It was absolutely fantastic. My husband and I shared a seafood platter and it was the best I have ever had. Half a lobster, languistines and scallops. All 100% fresh and cooked to perfection. The chef in their kitchen really knows what he is doing. We were with our 7 month old daughter and they were fantastic with her. I can't wait to go back to Islay on holiday so that we can visit the Port Askaig Hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Whilst on a cycling tour through the islands, we celebrated a birthday with dinner at this hotel. Everything was excellent, from the window table with views across to Jura, through to the service & food. The waitress was very friendly & helpful, serving us a jug of iced water & a basket of freshly baked bread while we perused the menu. From an imaginative range of dishes we chose to share Stornaway black pudding with goats cheese followed by lemon sole & duck. The fish was beautifully fresh, & the duck cooked to perfection (rare). The wine menu was was reasonably priced & the whole evening a great success. We would definitely go back if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnharding46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The food in this place is delicious and is cheep and cheerful. It seems to be a typical bar meals place which I think Islay is lacking. Too many places on Islay to fancy and very expensive! I would recommend this place for good pub grub :o)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Askaig
7.2 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
47 reviews
13.0 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
277 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
400 reviews
15.3 mi away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
16 reviews
12.5 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Askaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Askaig Hotel

Address: Port Askaig Isle of Islay | Argyllshire, Port Askaig PA46 7RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Askaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Askaig
Price Range: $37 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Askaig Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Askaig Hotel is a picturesque, family run Highland Inn on the shores of the Sound of Islay, overlooking the pier at which daily car ferries berth on arrival from the Scottish mainland. Due to its proximity to the ferry, it offers easy access to Jura, Colonsay and the mainland. Our Starboard Restaurant offers Bistro style dining, with a full meal service in both bars and hot snacks available out with main meal times.Menus feature the best of Islay's Larder from both land and sea with 'catch of the day' fresh from the harbour here a speciality.Our hotel garden provides organic vegetable and salads to compliment your choices. Our Port Bar is the oldest licensed premises on Islay and features an excellent selection of Islay Malts and a display of old and rare bottles. In season live traditional music is oftenplayed in the Old Port Bar. Enjoy a beer or a malt whisky in the garden- relax and watch the boats sail by. Islay and it's goodbye to care ...... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Port Askaig Hotel Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing