We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely and relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property
Mo Dachaigh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mo Dachaigh
Living Room Panoramic View Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Mo Dachaigh
Living Room Panoramic View
Living Room
Living Room
Main Bedroom with en-suite wetroom
View from Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom En-Suite Wet Room
Bedroom 2
View from Bedroom 2
Bowmore taken from Lochindaal
Bowmore Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bowmore, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Julie K
2 reviews
“Homely and relaxing”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely cottage all within walking distance of pretty Bowmore and the coastline. Cottage has everything you could need and has plenty of space. Lovely coastline walks to see seals and to sample the local whisky. Will definately be back to Islay and to stay in this well positioned cottage. Thanks Fiona

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Hi Julie. Thank you for your excellent review, it is much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your visit so much that you wish to return. We have returned to Islay permanently and would be here to welcome back anytime. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah m
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The title of my review says it all...Wow. Mo Dachaidh has everything to offer, spotless clean, modern and it offers stunning views. I arrived with my dad and my daughter and we all agreed that it was perfect. I would recommend Mo Dachaidh to anyone who is going to visit the beautiful and breathtaking Island of Islay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Hi Hannah. Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review. We love to hear that our guests enjoy our beautiful island and we we love to welcome you back should you wish to return in the future. Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilby123
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beware of Other Charges”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

So disappointed with the service we received. Firstly we were told that we couldn't get the keys until 430pm and secondly on our final morning I received a text asking to make sure we left the £50 cleaning fee. This was supposedly in the small print (Fiona doesn't advertise this on Trip Advisor as it costs). My husband, cousins and I are still unable to find this in the e mail. Not impressed! Many of our party stayed in other properties and there was no cleaning fees in any of them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
I am really disappointed and consider this unfair review. The property is advertised as being available from 4pm on the day of arrival due to change over cleaning. As early entry was requested on the day of arrival, we went out of our way to ensure the member of your party gained access at the requested time. The access code was provided in advance and access gained 3pm as confirmed by one party member during a mobile conversation. They also confirmed that they were delighted with the cottage.

With regard to the Cleaning & Laundry fee, this was advised in the second paragraph of the Quotation sent on 14th January 2017, which has no "small print". At this point, if it was felt excessive, you could have chosen not to go ahead with the booking. Also, TripAdvisor have a 7 day cooling off period where you could have cancelled the booking without incurring charges. This issue was investigated thoroughly by TripAdvisor before deducting the amount due from your damage deposit.

We want all of our guests to enjoy their visit to our beautiful island and am really sorry you feel this way. We will considering adding it to the Additional Fees section of TripAdvisor to avoid any issues in future. Regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewscat
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy home from home!”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We loved our stay on Islay and this was the perfect base. Clean, comfortable and really warm and cosy! The house was perfect- easy walking distance to all amenities in Bowmore, and we felt right at home. The garden was lovely- although early April is still a bit chilly for sitting outside!! Our family came over from Ireland for this trip, and so we were particularly pleased that the accommodation we chose was of such high quality for their first experience of the Scottish Islands. We have already recommended this to friends, and we intend to go back to Mo Dachaidh. Thank you, Fiona!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, it is much appreciated. It is very gratifying to hear that our guests enjoy their time, on Islay and find the cottage ideal for their needs. We would be delighted to welcome both you and any of your friends anytime. Hope to see you in Islay in the future. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nical00
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Had a lovely stay, house has everything you need while on holiday with lovely views. The house is in an ideal spot as it's central in Bowmore. Couldn't of asked for more and the house was lovely and clean. Would defenitly stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2017
Hi Nicola. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We were so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday and are considering a return visit. We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy2620
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay at Mo Dachaidh”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Mo Dachaidh was perfect for my wife and I for our three night stay on Islay (note: there is room enough for 3 couples). Clean, spacious, nice kitchen, comfortable bed, right in town (Bowmore). We would have liked to have stayed longer -- for everything Islay has to offer. No complaints. We highly recommend Mo Dachaidh.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
Thank you very much Randall for taking the time to write such a positive review, it is really appreciated. I am so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your time on Islay. If you decide to come back again in the future we would be very happy to accommodate you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
Thank you Steven for the excellent review, it is much appreciated. So glad that you and your party enjoyed your time on Islay. We would be only to pleased to welcome again whenever you wish to visit Islay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing